Canon 7D or Nikon D300s: for ameture who already has D90

mirzaair

Standard Member
Hi All

I don't wana go in to the debate on Nikon or Canon!

I am an ameture photographer, I love to take photos but I have NO plan to print them in life size or send them to a compettition. But I DO lilke crispy, crystal clear sharp photos.And then i don't like complecated menue/setting system.

I have a Nikon D90 and might just have an opportunity to upgrade it. Therefore,

1. Shall I stick to D90?
2. or Canon 50D can be a good value upgrade
or
3. Nikon D300s or Canon 7D could be a good upgrade based on 'my amateurish' needs?

Thanks you all in adance.

Last edited:

Mike.P®

Hi All

I don't wana go in to the debate on Nikon or Canon!

3. Nikon D300s or Canon 7D could be a good upgrade based on 'my amateurish' needs?
How can you not get into a Nikon or Canon debate when that is exactly the question you are asking :confused:

willo

As Dazza said, your better off spending money on good glass. Bodies come and go but good quality glass will last you and a better investment.

mirzaair

Standard Member
Mike.P®;10846204 said:
How can you not get into a Nikon or Canon debate when that is exactly the question you are asking :confused:
Thanks for your time. If you kindly read my posting, I did say I am an amateur, I don't like complecated setting option etc. I will not make large prints or take part on a compettion but I would like to take crispy photos, so say just for the sake of it, 7D is a better camera but needs lot of skills to manupulate it, then it's not for me!

Last edited by a moderator:

mirzaair

Standard Member
I'd stick with what you have and spend the money instead on better quality lenses.

Hi Dazza74
Thanks for your suggestion. One more help please, I am thinking of bying a Sigma or Tamron 70-300mm lens but most of them are not VR lenses. Will it make it a big difference it trerms of taking photos?