Canon 550D + 18-55mm or 18-135mm

logix88

Standard Member
I am a newbie to slr regime, but I am keen in photography and I wanted to start off with the Canon 550D.

I was wondering if upgrading to 18-135mm IS lens would offer any quality difference compared to the 18-55mm kit lens, I am not so keen on zoom capacity right now. So, unless there is a quality improvement, I wouldn't want to fork out an extra 200/250 pounds on the 18-135mm.

lunar524

Obviously you will get better reach with the 18-135mm, and is the better day to day walkabout lens. However as someone who has used both when I had my 550D, you will not see better IQ, infact the IQ from the 18-55mm may be just a fraction better, but thats JMO.

Having said that, I did prefer the 18-135 purely for it's coverage, and in my case I sold the 18-55mm to help offset the price of the 18-135mm. The 135mm does have better build quality, and the fact the front does not rotate when focusing is quite useful, so you can use petal lens hoods which look the part..lol

TBH, I was getting fedup of getting small dust particles on the focusing screen etc. due to changing lenses, once I managed to get it clean, I tended to leave the 18-135 on all the time.

Only lens I occasionally swapped to afterwards was to the cheapo 50mm 1.8 prime lens, which really is a must have, if your a Canon dslr user.

Last edited:

logix88

Standard Member
Obviously you will get better reach with the 18-135mm, and is the better day to day walkabout lens. However as someone who has used both when I had my 550D, you will not see better IQ, infact the IQ from the 18-55mm may be just a fraction better, but thats JMO.

Having said that, I did prefer the 18-135 purely for it's coverage, and in my case I sold the 18-55mm to help offset the price of the 18-135mm.

TBH, I was getting fedup of getting small dust particles on the focusing screen etc. due to changing lenses, once I managed to get it clean, I tended to leave the 18-135 on all the time.