Canon 400D - Possible flash fault?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Gavin_Hall, May 2, 2007.

  1. Gavin_Hall

    Gavin_Hall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +179
    I have just taken delivery of a nice Canon 400D, together with a Sigma 17-70mm lens. I am still going though the manual getting to grips with all the different features.

    One thing which is concerning me is that I have noticed that when taking a picture that will require a flash, the flash fires off a stream of flashes the minute I half-depress the shutter release button to get focus lock! The stream of flashes isn't consistent, sometimes it is 6 to 8 flashes, sometimes only 1,it's like a strobing effect.

    Obviously, I expect the flash to fire, but not until I have fully pressed the shutter release, not before!? I have checked the red-eye setting and that is off.

    Am I missing something, is this a fault, I can't find any reference to this within the manual?

    Thanks

    Gavin
     
  2. horribleman

    horribleman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
  3. Gavin_Hall

    Gavin_Hall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +179
    That was my thought, but I've just this second read an article that confirms that as well, thanks! :)

    It really distracts the person being photographed !
     
  4. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Like all Canon DSLRs It does use its flash for AF assist :)() but it shouldn't need it if the focusing conditions are not "demanding"

    If it is a constant problem I would have it looked at. Try using manual focus and see if it happens ( shouldn't)

    Also it shouldn't happen in conditions where focusing should be easy.. unless it is the lens that is struggling
     
  5. RobDickinson

    RobDickinson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +748
    You should be able to switch of the AF assist on the flash btw, somewhere in the menu's.
     
  6. Coolhand

    Coolhand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    You can switch it off in the menu, it's one of the first things I did when I got the camera, cos all my early portraits were of people squinting.
     
  7. Gavin_Hall

    Gavin_Hall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +179
    Thanks for that, I found the option deep in a customisation menu! Now time to play :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...