Canon 400d Half Black Photo Problem

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by thefeature, Jul 28, 2012.

1. thefeature

thefeature
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

This is my first time posting on the forum but it seems as though there are a lot of experts here that might be able to help, as I have tried scouring the internet for my problem and cannot find an answer.

I have a Canon 400d and it has been working fine up until recently. No matter which lens I use (default 18-55mm lens or my other Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 II Lens), my pictures seem to only take a third of an image. The rest is faded out black, as you can see here:

http://i1172.photobucket.com/albums/r572/bhuk83/cannon_pictures_007_Small.jpg
    http://i1172.photobucket.com/albums/r572/bhuk83/cannon_pictures_006_Small.jpg

I have tried factory resetting back to default settings and both AF and manual mode, so I am not exactly sure what the problem could be?

I currently have a SanDisk 4GB Extreme III CompactFlash Card in the camera, and wonder if it is this that is faulty - or something else internally?

Note: One other thing I noticed recently, before I made the factory reset, is that the camera often gave the 'busy' message a lot in AF mode even when I wasn't shooting continuously and tried all the standard troubleshooting - such as standing further back, waiting for a period of time for flash to recharge etc.

That is why I was wondering if a faulty card could cause this black fade problem?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Ben

2. simonblue

simonblue
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9,063
    Looks like it could be a shutter or a mirror problem,its not a card problem.

If it still under g/tee take it back,if not it might have to go Canon for repair.

:)

3. thefeature

thefeature
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0