1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Canon 300D v 10D

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Party Animal, Jun 6, 2004.

1. Party Animal

Party Animal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have been fortunate to be able to have a play with both of Canons D-SLRs 10d and 300d this morning
    first off I would say that I am a poor amateur photographer who would dearly Love to own either of them and currently use a Canon 300v 35mm SLR and have a Canon A70

The 300d has a much simpler menu system and even I soon got to grips with it.. the 10D has more dials and needs rather more input from the user to get up & running

the Picture quality is exactly the same as far as I can see -- obviously the camera is only as good as the Lens its using. but after taking various shots with both, I can see no difference

the 10d is a fair bit heavier the the 300d --and a lot has been said about the different bodies ie the 300 plastic and 10d metal I actually prefer the silver one.. but I know lots of folk hate the plastic... apparently the 300d now comes in black as well

one area where the 10d scores a knockout blow was when in motordrive mode (if thats what its called) the 300d will rattle off 4 shots on the bounce whereas the 10D will fire 9 shots -- both cameras take a minute or two to transfer the pics to the flashcard from the internal buffer

The 4 frame buffer against 9 would not put me off the 300d as my type of photography would not need 9 frames on the trot.. so if you were wanting mainly action shots I would say definatly get the10D
    if however you just take general/candid/Landscape shots and occasional fast moving objects, the 300d would do just fine

as to which format to shoot in I am now a convert to raw from jpeg. I feel that the Raw files on both models would give more quality than jpegs when zooming right in