Cannot get amp to output 5.1

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by ding76uk, Jan 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ding76uk

    ding76uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all, after lots of swearing I thought I'd ask for some advice.

    I cannot output Blu Ray audio from my Ps3 in Dolby Digital or DTS. I have the amp connected via optical digital lead, and have PS3 output settings as settings as Linear PCM, but it will not give me either blu ray or games in anything other than Dolby pro logic 2. DVD's play fine in 5.1, but Blu Rays for some reason no matter what i try stay in Pro Logic 2, is this a setting I have wrong or something else. Games and DVD's both output to the amp in 5.1, but Blu Rays will not.

    My setup is as follows:

    PS3 connected to 40D3000 via hdmi.

    Amp is Pioneer D814 and connected to PS3 via optical digital.

    Any help greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance

    Carl
     
  2. stuart1976

    stuart1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Timsbury, Bath
    Ratings:
    +253
    You have to set the Optical Output to Bitstream to get 5.1 sound.
     
  3. ding76uk

    ding76uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks mate sorted. Mods please close this thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...