Can you play a NES on hdtv?

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by zygosgames, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. zygosgames

    zygosgames
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    New to NES's, however, I am running a megadrive II on my hdtv with no problems, I'm not sure about what cables are used for the NES however.

    Any help is appreciated in advance! :)
     
  2. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    if i remember rightly, its almost identical to the megadrive rf lead(but without the midcable switch), so it should work just fine, although how it looks, thats anybodys guess.:rotfl:
    actually if the megadrive has the mid cable rf switch, you could connect the nes to it also,and just switch between them.
     
  3. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +469
    the NES can output composite or rf, the choice is yours :thumbsup:
     
  4. zygosgames

    zygosgames
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    with rf would it mean I'd have switch between having an aerial in my tv and the nes?
     
  5. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Not if you get a RF splitter... when I had an old CRT I used to have about 20 of the bloody things linked together so I could have all my consoles to the TV. Splitters are so easy and cheap to find - poundland and thouse kind of places should have them!:D
     
  6. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    the megadrive rf cable has a switch on it, for 2 things to be connected.
     
  7. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +220
    I remember the nes connections. 2 phonos, composite video and mono audio. If your hdtv has front av connections just connect to that with a standard phono lead. audio phono will go to the left channel phono on the front of the tv for mono sound. If your using a RGB scart lead with your megadrive be prepared to be disappointed with humble composite on the nes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...