1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you help an old duffer?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by old-Bill, Aug 7, 2004.

1. old-Bill

old-Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am completely new to the AV scene and getting on a bit in years but I thought I would give it a go!

After reading through your forums I decided to purchase a Pioneer DV-575A DVD player and A Toshiba 36ZP48 television, I also purchased component video leads so that I could use Progressive Scan.
    When I connect up with these leads my video "Donny Darko" does not play!
    If I connect a Scart lead it does play!
    I am clueless as to how all this works, could someone please, please help out, I even took my DVD player to Curries but they could not make it start on Progressive Scan, I am at a total loss as I dont really understand what I am doing.
    Do you have to have a Progressive Scan compatible DVD as the Salesman in Curries told me?

Please help.

Bill

2. Piers

Piers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +227
    Bill,

Lets see if I can help.

Firstly, the salesman in Curries is talking rubbish - as usual! Any DVD can be deinterlaced by a suitable DVD player (such as the DV-575A) and presented to the TV in progressive format. The Toshiba 36ZP48 accepts a progreesive scan input so it should all be working. We need to check a couple of points:

Have you connected the red, green and blue cables to the component outputs of the DV-575A (usually labelled YUV or YPbPr)?

Have you connected the other ends of these cables to the component inputs on the TV (same labelling)?

Have you gone into the "Initial Settings" menu on the DVD, selected "Component Out" and set this to "Progressive"?

Have you set the input on the TV to "Component" (I seem to remember that it is AV4?