Can you guys recommend a Blu-Ray Drive please.

BlAdEAnGeL

Established Member
Reaction score
I only require reader for Blu-Ray's it has to be reliable and able to read most media, if it supports burning on normal (SL and DL DVD's) then that's OK. Not have the software sorted yet but am kind of torn between DVD Fab 8 and AnyDVD DH, have to use my mates laptop at this time to back up my movies which is cumbersome.:thumbsdow Hence why want to get my own gear. My media streamer is PlayonHD2 Mini with two external 2tb drives. Thank you in advance.:thumbsup:

DARN IT!!!!:( Can't change the main thred for typo, can a mod do it for me please?:smashin:

Last edited:
Had a Pioneer BDR-206DBK for a few months,
Never had a problem,
Seems very fast, i'm no expert, but i think it can handle the latest 100GB+ disks,
£99 on Amazon

Thanks mate, shame you're the only one who answered. Bought a blu-ray reader from Aria last month and for now will do me. Looking at building a HTPC in not too distant future, got few components but still udecided, I will add this to the list and see how I get on. What happened to the Pioneer?

It was in my PC tower, along with a Samsung DVD burner,
PC died late June, would no boot or power up correctly,
Its 8 years old, so decided to get a laptop, Pioneer is currently disconnected, awaiting a external enclosure, should be ok on USB2,
Which should have the bandwidth for Blu ray read/write at 1X or 2X, or maybe up to 8X, cannot remember,
Think USB2 bandwidth is up to 480MBS ?
Got to try it anyway,
Have used both software you mentioned, they are OK,
But it takes quite a few hours to rip a DL Blu Ray disk, its really an overnight job.
Google Imgburn as well.

Last edited:
BTW, which Blu Ray drive did you get ?

Got this one but it's gone up in price, I got it for £39 vat inclusive.