Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Can You Get High Def On Ps2?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by kurt_ego, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. kurt_ego

    kurt_ego
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you get hd on ps2? i seen various thing about getting an xbox to do it? Can us ps2 owners get into the act?


    Kurt
     
  2. danvitale

    danvitale
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    By The Sea
    Ratings:
    +114
    Only certain US titles im afraid. For example, the US Gran Turismo 4 has a 1080i mode.
     
  3. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,422
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +69
    Only 1 PS2 game is HD, Gran Turismo 4 (NTSC version only). There is an option to run it at 480p (ED) or 1080i (HD) though the game menu's remain in 480i and the 1080i seems to be 'faked' by the PS2.
     
  4. ButtonUPS

    ButtonUPS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Haywards Heath
    Ratings:
    +2
    :cool: faked? explain
     
  5. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Its not faked. It just doesnt work in the menus. It only comes on during actual game play. (ie during a race) Once you go back to the menus it reverts to 480p i think.

    Its really stupid as the TV has to keep jumping from one seting to the next and rather frequently. That CANT be good for the TV!!

    Im gonna wait till the full game is at 720p like on the XBox.
    Only the PS3 and 360 will do that.
    Some Xbox titles like soul calibur 2 support 720p through out the whole game.
     
  6. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,046
    it is supposedly faked. While it is outputting a proper 1920x1080i image, the internal buffer is less than that horizontally, and its scaling it up before it outputs it.

    Its more like a 640x540p image, stretched horizontally 3x.
     
  7. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Bah! Stupid PS2. It simply doesnt have the horse power to show propper HD. Wait for the PS3 or Xbox 360.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice