Can you change a channel?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Gadjet, Aug 24, 2001.

  1. Gadjet

    Gadjet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +7
    I live in North Wales and the BBC channels (1+2) are BBC Wales. Is there a way on my digibox (panasonic) to change these channels to normal BBC. I miss out on some sporting events, mainly football and some programs that I watch are on a much later time. Can I retune these channels or add the normal BBC.

    Help much appreciated,<br />Phill
     
  2. delta

    delta
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you on SkyDigital or ITV Digital? If Sky then oyu should receive the English BBC channels too. If ITVDigital you will need an aerial to receive signals from Winter Hill which serves most of the North Wales coastal area and inland to such as Mold. Check with your local areial installer.
     
  3. Gadjet

    Gadjet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wrexham
    Ratings:
    +7
     
  4. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    Phil

    This question is forever being raised. BBC1 is based on postcodes, hence welsh postcode = BBC1 Wales. There is no way you can retune box to pick up BBC1 England. THE REASON. It is all to do with copyright for sports events. BBC2 is not affected yet!

    Hint, move to english postcode and then move back.

    <br />SANAP
     
  5. StephenR

    StephenR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had endless arguments with the BBC about this! Fortunately you can get all the BBC2 nations on Sky - they are in the 900s. It is thought that the BBC1 nations will also become available in the 900s very shortly.

    The BBC always use the copyright or multiple showings argument when defending the restrictions on BBC1. However, on digital cable in some areas you can get more than one BBC1, so why not on Sky? I have ITV digital too but unfortunatly the signal from Winter Hill is too weak, so I am stuck with BBC1 Wales and HTV <img src="frown.gif" border="0">
     

Share This Page

Loading...