can u get a DAB reciever for your pc

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by loopee, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    just thought of this as you could record stuff onto your harddrive too and that

    ???
     
  2. KJ_Palmer

    KJ_Palmer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    that is not for your pc is it?
     
  4. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,276
    Psion Wavefinder can be picked up cheap as chips 2nd hand because it won't work on XP SP2.
    I use one with http://www.dabbar.co.uk/ to provide scheduled recordings when I'm out.
     
  5. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    i got xp though so thats no good for me

    i got media centre to if thats any help
     
  6. Dan Mac

    Dan Mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there anything similar available that you know about which will work with XP SP2?
     
  7. ProfessorYaffle

    ProfessorYaffle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +85
    Take a look at http://www.radioandtelly.co.uk/onyourpc.html.

    Personally, I'd go for the TV card or USB Freeview option as it gives you TV too. Unless you want local stations, of course. In a lot (if not all) cases Frereview offers a far better bitrate for radio than DAB offers, so quality will be better, especially if recording music.
     
  8. Pluggers

    Pluggers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive recently started to record DAB on my pc.I have connected the earphone socket of my DAB radio to my sound card and Im using audio grabber software via the line in sampling function to record directly as an mp3 file so I can listen to it at work on my mp3 player because the dab signal is utter cr*p there.
     
  9. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    where can i get that audio grabbing software??
     
  10. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
  11. Pluggers

    Pluggers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is where I had mine from.

    http://www.audiograbber.com-us.net/download.html

    Then go to this site

    http://lame.jthz.com/

    and download "lame-3.97b" (the top one)by clicking "locally hosted" ,unzip. copy and paste the "lame_enc.dll" file into audio grabber dir.For the mp3 codec
     
  12. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    what am i downloading off the first link sorry?
     
  13. Pluggers

    Pluggers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    agsetup.exe 1.83. Then just select the site location nearest to where you live.
     
  14. loopee

    loopee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +10
    cant get the lame bit to work or download?

    and i have downloaded this audio grabber bu how does it work
     
  15. Pluggers

    Pluggers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When program is opened up
    1 Tick the little box on the mp3 icon.
    2 Click on the mp3 icon to open up another window.
    3 Choose the lame encoder from the internal codec drop down list.
    4 Then above that you need to choose "Direct rip and Encode to mp3 file".
    5 From the file menu choose line in sampling and then click the record button when you audio source is plugged in.

    As for the lame encoder a new one has been released so try that by clicking on the 3.97b2 it will download as a zip file.Double click to open it up and drag the lame enc dll into the audio grabber dir.
     
  16. ceepee

    ceepee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I had a wavefinder back in the day, but replaced it with one of these. It uses the same chipset as the wavefinder, but doesn't have its faults.

    I really couldn't recommend these highly enough if you use it with dabbar, rather than the supplied UI and at that price :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...