1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can this plasma do HD? (pics included)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Paul -C-, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. Paul -C-

    Paul -C-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    First I should say hello, since this is my first post :hiya:

    I've been reading the forums for a few months now, and found the posts really helpful :smashin:

    Anyway, I have a question for you guys. Can my newly purchased plasma do HD? According to the instruction manual I think it can, but I only paid £1k for it, so I didn't think it would. It's the Maxent MX-42LE7 from dabs.com

    Here's a couple of pics from the manual:


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. smultron

    smultron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, it's an ED Panel and not HD Ready.
     
  3. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,611
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,711
    Depends, it specifically states 60hz so it's not going to like the Sky HD signal which will presumably be at 50hz. It should be fine with e.g. a US Xbox 360 or US HD-DVD player , basically anything outputting at 60hz but UK stuff that outputs 50hz won't work. You could of course use a scaler for example to change 50hz input signal to 60hz output, some people find doing that more offensive on the eyes than others...

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,611
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,711
    Granted it's not an HD panel but that doesn't mean it won't accept and downscale a HD signal
     
  5. Paul -C-

    Paul -C-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    So it might be possible to receive HD Sky?

    How much does a basic scaler cost? Would changing the signal from 50Hz to 60Hz affect the quality a great deal?

    Cheers!
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    A scaler capable of FRC to 50Hz will cost more than the plasma did. £1000 is the start price for such a thing. For the combined price you could certainly have bought one of the new samsungs, and nearly a Panasonic PV500. Another potential problem is HDCP, copy protection. If the DVI is not compliant with this, it will not accept digital connections from Sky or DVD players.
     
  7. Paul -C-

    Paul -C-
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok I'll forget about that idea then! lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...