can this out put via HDMI

runner05

Banned
im am looking for a new amp, i amd not looking to got crazy and spend a lot of money,

i have just seen this on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sony-STR-DG70...oryZ3280QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

i am new to all of this and was wondering if somebody could tell me if i bought this could i run a single hdmi cable to my tv and have all my other stuff ( sky hd, 360, ps3, ) all plugged in to the amp.

thanks in advance:thumbsup:

sideysid

Novice Member
Nope - HDMI is video switcher only. It does not process any audio or video through HDMI.

You would need to up the budget for the functionality you require. The Sony STR-DA3200ES in Sony's range is where you need to start at.

jw250

Novice Member
I'm afraid no, you can't do that with this amp. The feature that you describe is called 'HDMI Upconversion' and is quite a major thing for a piece of electronics to do. Basically this converts all your analogue signals and converts them into a digital HDMI signal - no mean feat. In addition to this some amps 'upscale' these signals in the process - which is a different feature, basically digitally upgrading standard definition to high-definition. You would need to look at either the Yamaha RXV-1700 and the RXV-2700 (which adds 'upscaling') - these are around the £1000+ mark and are superb. Denon though make some amps with these features that are a bit cheaper, very good but I prefer Yamaha for build and design.

Alternatively, if you are happy to do so, you could opt for an amp from the multitude of amps that 'upconvert' all analogue signals to analogue component and just run the HDMI seperately. 'Upscaling' is also available on some amps with this feature too.

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
Hello runner05