Can the Yamaha rxv 1400 accept airlock bananas?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by chichopf, May 14, 2004.

Tags:
  1. chichopf

    chichopf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I’m awaiting for one Yamaha rxv1400 (actually it’s out of stock), and I want connect this to one kef kht2005.2 with qed silver anniversary airlock terminated;

    Accept the Yamaha and the kef the 4 mm bananas airlock?

    Sorry for my poor English

    Kind regards.
     
  2. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,200
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,674
    Yes it does but you really have to push them very hard to break the little plastic guard that protects the terminals.
     
  3. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    When did you order your 1400? I ordered mine in February and still waiting! :mad:
     
  4. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope it was a good deal for that kind of wait i would of brought one of the plentiful supply that many shops have got even though they're full retail!
     
  5. chichopf

    chichopf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. srbwilson

    srbwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    just take a small drill bit and drill out the plastic, i did this to a yam reciever no problems. the plastic is there due to eu law, the sockets are the same size as euro plugs i believe.
     
  7. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Its no problem you just have to use a little force. I was a little worried when i did it the first time :D now much more convenient and better connection than using bare wires.
     
  8. SKA.face

    SKA.face
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    I wouldn't hold your breath with redcoon.es i bought a pioneer 912 from them,it was due in 14 days,took 6 weeks :boring:
     
  9. nelius

    nelius
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered my 1400 from Redcoon.de when it said ships in 24-48 hours which is what happened.
     
  10. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Mine is due this week (alledgely). If not I may think about cancelling cos I am starting to get fed up, the only reason I havent cancelled yet is my housemates amp isn't too bad.

    Think I missed the boat on supply by about 2 weeks - typical!
     
  11. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody had any success with stock levels on the 1400, i have it ordered from germany but they have no stock and no lead time, i cannot bring myself to paying £250 more!!! and buy from U.K seems like one hell of a waste of money to me

    If anyone has some good german site links which have at least info on new stock please share
     
  12. Mitch2000

    Mitch2000
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't just force the banana plugs in, although I'm sure it will work fine, try cutting the entrance slightly with a stanley knife by just putting a couple of slits in the thin plastic. The plugs will fit nice and snug.
     
  13. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    betamac - when & who have you ordered off?

    As of 2 weeks there was NO SUPPLY from any of the major online retailers in Germany for export (some of the companies seem to have different supply levels if going abroad)

    I've been told that Yamaha are producing a small amount each month and these are going on a first come first served basis. Hence I was told 3 weeks ago that stock would be due this week, howver they didnt know how many or what colour. There were 10 people in front of me in the queue with hificomponents, so if they only get enough for them its going to be longer!

    I ordered in February and although its a £250 saving, the whole wait thing is starting to peev me off, particualry with euro 2004 around the corner!!

    Here's hoping...
     
  14. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered from https://www.technikdirekt.de (£465 Delivered in Titan)
    the whole point of buying this Amp was to save me money when i buy my plasma as instead of a £2450 package i can just get a £2100 package (with just wall mount) and use AMP to control all Video and overall i save £100 and replace my 3 year old AMP with a top of the range one

    If i have to order from U.K i am gona be £300 ish over budget so its very hard decision its just so annoying having no indication of stock atall, what makes it worse is not knowing who is likely to get stock first so there could be a company i could order with who might get them in next week for example but the company i used could be waiting months? hmmm not sure what yo do
     
  15. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thats who I was going to reordered with if I cancelled as they do credit card payments and wire transfer is £10 a time! :(

    I had an email off them about amonth ago saying they had no stock and didn't know when they would have.

    Like I say mine "is due" this week (I sound like a borken record!!) maybe I will hear something this week. The worrying thing is that a lot of the prices have gone up and the delivery time on hificomponents is still saying 60 days!!

    I will let you know once I hear anything, luckily I am ok with my housemates amp, but I am sure he will want it back soon!... :censored:
     
  16. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Forgot to say - if I do cancel then it will be to buy over here or buy a different amp. Seems no point in going to another supplier in Germany and going to the bottom of their queue...
     
  17. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeh, but what alternate is there? Buy the Yam from U.K £700 in Black £800 In titan is what i seen, or buy the Denon 3805 for £750

    I cant find an AMP to match the 1400 for less than £500 which is my budget

    I take it prices cant go up once you have ordered? as £465 is a superb price delivered if i have the patience to wait but we will see if i have :(
     
  18. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    nope once you ordered the price sticks - think mine was £482

    Agreed - thats why I am waiting (and praying)!! :suicide:
     
  19. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well we must have cursed it!!

    Came into work and there's an email from Germany!

    "We very much regret the delay in the delivery of your order. According to the manufacturerm dispatch is first expected in July"

    AAARRRRHHHHH!!!!!! :censored: :censored: :censored: :censored:

    Really not sure what to do now - half of me wants to wait just to be stubborn about it - but at this rate it will be 6 months since I ordered it and the blooming thing will be out of date!

    I've emailed all the other German suppliers for stock details - will let you knoow what they say!

    What other amps do peeps recommend thats as good? Denon 3805 and the Pioneer ASX5?
     
  20. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Getting somewhere!

    Audiovision-shop.de have it in stock but only in black! Have sent email back asking when silver will be in. Price is 699Eur & 35Eur shipping
     
  21. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These also have it in stock in a nice Gold

    http://www.worldaudiocentre.com/Storefront/Product.asp?pid=38

    I have been quoted $1,369SDG And $300 Shipping

    Prices In Singapore Dollars Which Means Total Is £557 And A Further 3% Discount For Bank Transfer instead of CC Card (£540)

    Problem Its Singapore And There WIll Be Customs I Am Pretty Sure

    I have also e mailed Audio vision thanks for that, not sure on black everything else I have is silver but for the money saved and getting it now i think i can put up with it
     
  22. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    They've emailed back again saying there aren't stocking silver - not sure whether thats forever or just at the moment!

    Think one from Singaport is different from the European models - if you go through the manual you can see the differences. Sod all between UK and European except plug and the AM aerial!
     
  23. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Let me know if you get one in black!
     
  24. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    What about he voltages?? Does Singapore use 240v/50Htz ?
     
  25. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can't remember the voltages - think they are different, the same way US ones are.

    I meant there was no difference between UK and Mainland Europe ones.
     
  26. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hey DFour - bet your right happy you ordered your 1400 when you did - my attempts to get one are getting a little silly now!! If only I had ordered 2 weeks previous!
     
  27. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Tell me about it. I knew they where in short demand but this is stupid :mad: I love it, im sure I would have been as happy with my 2 other choises though as they are also great amps .
    Hope yours turns up soon Vodder :clap: Nope no difference between UK and European ones except the plug lol and the warrenty is valid in UK even if imported. :lesson:
     
  28. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I know! There are so many reasons why I keep hanging on for it and the warrenty thing is a bonus! But it is stupid and frustrating.

    From what I can tell there seems to be a shortage of ALL Yamaha amps in Germany, so I don't know if their engineers are on strike or something!

    What were the other two amps you were looking at?
     
  29. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    I was looking at the Marantz sr7400, approx. £480 and a second hand H/K 5550 (£550-600), or even one of the new H/K amps.
     
  30. chichopf

    chichopf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, mystery about bananas it’s solved; according Yamaha’s customer service, RX-V1400 accept bananas but to avoid mistakes there’s a plastic protector that can be remove pull with a small screwdriver.

    Many, many, many thanks at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice