1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can the dv88 play mp3/mpeg4 files?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by dothillbenny, Jan 10, 2005.

1. dothillbenny

dothillbenny

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI

I own a DV88 which I'm using as my source for 2 channel audio. I was wondering if anyone knows if it is capable of playing mp3's

To be more specific I am trying to burn a disc with tracks downloaded from itunes. The properties of the downloaded files are mpeg4 audio files (protected). I'm new to music downloads and an getting confused - are mp3s the same mpegs and can these files be simply burnt onto a cd-rw to play on my dv88. I've not had any success so far - I get a 'bad disc' message on the display when I burnt 5 tracks the first time!

Any help would be appreciated!

thanks
    dothillbenny

2. MrTubThumper

MrTubThumper

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am not to sure on this but is the disc finalized when burning it....I don't know if this will stop the disc being recognized?

3. dothillbenny

dothillbenny

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the response!

I have had some sucess - mainly by altering the burn settings in the itunes software

I burnt a disc as an 'audio cd' rather than 'mp3 cd' and it played ok

I guess this means that the dv88 can play mpeg's ( it does have mpeg written on the front of the machine). Still not sure what the difference is between mpeg4 and mp3, I'm a bit ignorant I guess. But as long as I can play my dowloaded tracks back through my dv88 I'm happy - they sound pretty good as well!!

cheers
    dothillbenny

4. John Dawson

John Dawson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +112