Can the AX100 do 1080p24 over component

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gamingdave, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    As the title says, can the Panasonic AX100 do 1080p24 over component or is it limited to the HDMI port.

    Having recently moved, and upgrading my kit, Id like to just run one component cable to the back of the room (to carry Wii, 360, Virgin HD, and the PC - which will have HD DVD player, and maybe blu-ray), instead of a long HDMI run aswell (and then needing an HDMI swithcer and splitter or messing arround with cables). The run will be about 25 feet.
     
  2. dunamis

    dunamis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    How are you going to switch between all those different devices if you do run a single component cable?

    Ronnie
     
  3. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    I was planning on picking up a component switch box. I could go with multiple cables (HDMI for PC and TV, component for Wii, and VGA for 360) but I dont really want to have lots of runs, and the HDMI ports on the PC and TV box will all be runnimg to a TV allready.

    If someone made a cheapish switch, that could upscale everything to HDMI, and output to 2 devices at once then thats what id get, but ive struggled to find such a thing. And whilst my amp may be old (Yamaha DSP-A2) it still has a lovely sound so im not looking to upgrade it yet, to one with more modern video switching.

    Anyway, the main question is can it handle 1080p24 over component.
     
  4. Bill

    Bill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Dungannon
    Ratings:
    +49
    Hi,

    The AX100 is a 720p machine, not 1080p. it will however output 1080i

    Bill
     
  5. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thanks Bill,

    you are correct in that the AX100 is a native 720p projcetor, howerver it can accept 1080p24, the importance being on the 24 fps for smooth panning.
     
  6. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    i am pretty sure you cant get 1080p over component for movies, you can only get 1080p for movies using hdmi or vga.
     
  7. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    Having found the manual online (paper one temp lost due to house move) it seems I can now answer my own question.

    It CAN excpet 1080p24 over component, aswell as 1080p50 and 1080p60
     
  8. bevette

    bevette
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
  9. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    it might accept it but no player can send it over component due to restrictions, so the best you can get for movies using component is 1080i/50hz/60hz.
     
  10. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    Is that a restriction of players? Would it work from a PC?

    If no player is capable of outputting the signal, why would the projcetor be capable of recieving it?
     
  11. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    not sure, i know with the 360 you can play games at 1080p over component but with the hddvd add on you are restricted to 1080i.

    I think the restriction is due to CSS (DVD) and AACS (HD DVD & Blu-ray) copyright provisions that dont allow anything movie related at 1080p over component.
     
  12. gamingdave

    gamingdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    Good to know chic.

    I gues I need to hunt on how well the copy protection has been circumvented on the PC then I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...