1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can Someone Please Help A Beginner? (Me).

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by OvertoneBliss, Mar 11, 2005.

1. OvertoneBliss

OvertoneBliss

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

I'm in the market for my first Plasma screen in a couple of months time and I need to know two things.

1) Is there any point in me getting a HD compatible plasma if I'm connecting via VGA from a PC and playing movies via a PC DVD ROM drive? I will be getting a HD-DVD or BluRay drive as soon as they become available for PC but will that be able to send the PQ through VGA anyway?

2) Is the PW7 HD compatible? Without getting complicated (as I'm a beginner). If it can then, as mentioned above, will it take a HD signal from VGA? If not, then is there a way to "make" it HD compatible?

3) I need a couple of web address's I can buy from online that offer finance. I need to pay about half the price and the rest over a couple of months because I won't be able to just give over £1k+ in one go. I just know I won't be able to do it.

Thanks,

Phil.

2. OvertoneBliss

OvertoneBliss

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No one? :(.

Phil.

3. Steve_P

Steve_P

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +141
    Saturday is a relatively quiet day hence the few replies.

1.) If it were me and I knew that I was going to jump into Blu-Ray/HD-DVD when it becomes available then I would be shopping for a Plasma with the HD ready badge... i.e. it is capable of HDMI/DVI with HDCP and at 50Hz & 60Hz. Yes you may use VGA at the moment but when the time comes I think you'll want to move onto a digital video interface as opposed to analogue to get the most out of the Hi-Def player whether it be Blu-Ray or HD-DVD.