1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can someone explain component connections and A/V amps?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Vipen, Jan 26, 2005.

1. Vipen

Vipen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    i've got a NAD T752 a/v amp which i will be using when my plasma arrives next weekend (not decided yet but it's happening).

Probably going for the NEC VR5.

At the moment the only digital sources are from my xbox (not chipped) via optical and dvd via erm, another cable which isn't optical but does send a digi signal.

I'm not very good at this you see.

So when i hear people are routing things through their amps i don't understand what exactly for.

I know my T752 has component inputs? but what does it all do for me??

Thanks for advice

2. nealgs

nealgs

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    it means that you can get you amp to also do video switching as well as audio switching.

You could take you dvd player video output, if component, then straight forward otherwise something like a JSTech RGB2YUV converter would be required, and feed that into one of the component inputs on you T752

You could also do the same for the xbox by getting the MS Hi-def kit, won't feed Hidef unless chipped or softmodded, but will allow you to feed it to the other component in on you T752.

The component output on you T572 would then feed to the component input on you plasma.

then when you change input on you amp, the video and audio are switch over automatically.

So:

DVD->T752-->|
    ............|----> Plasma
    Xbox->T752->|

hope that helps

Gary

3. Vipen

Vipen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Brilliant, thanks very much gary for your explanation. thought i was going to get stuck with 'is this guy dumb or what' no repsonse.

thanks again

4. nealgs

nealgs

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: