Can someone dupe a RAM to DVD-Rs for Me?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mark Bennett, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. Mark Bennett

    Mark Bennett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    Is there someone in the UK with the Hard drive version of the panasonic recorder dupe a doublesided DVD-Ram disk onto 2x DVD-Rs?

    I figure its a faster way relatively that doing the rip/encode etc which isn't really set up for on the mac yet.

    Alternatively I could use a dupe of the recent BBC Fear Series which ended last wed as thats whats on the ram disk.

    Email me if you can help. (local panasonic dealer wouldn't)

    Cheers

    M
     
  2. Paul W. H

    Paul W. H
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paddock Wood, Tonbridge, Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last week I purchased a Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-108 for this very purpose.

    Record on the Panasonic E55 to DVD RAM, place the RAM disk in the Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-108 and copy to the computers hard drive a quick clean-up to trim the ends and remove any adverts then burn to DVD-/+R with Pinnacle Studio 9 Plus.

    The doubled sided DVD RAM can be removed from the cartridge and used the same way as a single DVD RAM.

    The DVD R's play back perfectly in all our DVD players.

    You cheapest option assuming that you will want to do this again is to buy yourself a Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-108 for about £55.00 UKP

    Paul W. H
     
  3. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Are there any external drives with a similar spec (ie able to cope with RAM)?
     
  4. davet010

    davet010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just put an internal drive into an external surround - I've got an NEC 2510 linked to my laptop via usb2.
     
  5. Paul W. H

    Paul W. H
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paddock Wood, Tonbridge, Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Be aware that they can't all can handle DVD-RAM.

    Paul W. H
     
  6. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Um... forgive my ignorance, but I was not aware that such a product was available!

    I don't suppose that somebody could point me in the direction of a surround that would work with the aforementioned Pioneer drive? Thanks in advance!
     
  7. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +488
    Maplins do an external IDE case for about £60.00

    Pio 108 can read DVD Ram but can't write. The only manufacturers drives I'm aware of that can read and write DVD Ram are LG, Pansonic and Iomega. Their latest ones are, (LG) GSA4120B, about £50 online, (Pansonic) SW-9573-C £70.00. The Iomega is a complete USB2 external solution, model no. DVDRW4224EQ and is £114.00 from Simply Computers

    Hope this helps
     
  8. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for the advice. Could I be a cheapskate and use a USB 2.0 to IDE Adaptor (just seen it on the Maplin site) with one of these drives, which is only £20?

    That way I could be up and running with the LG drive for £70.
     
  9. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +488
    bit messy though - they do a nice aluminium external housing with power unit built in - have a look
     
  10. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I could probably live with a bit of mess for £40. Thanks for your help!
     
  11. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Get the LG 5120D - external with USB2 and Firewire. Works with dual layer and -RAM. It works great for me so far. £100 plus VAT from ebuyer. Do a search though, as ebuyer lists it twice with 2 different prices.
     
  12. Scotty306

    Scotty306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
  13. Mark Bennett

    Mark Bennett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Got the 107 and a little app that lets you mount DVD-RAM disks so thats part is fine.

    As I have a Mac G4 its the problem of what and how to do it next to get onto a DVD-R without loosing any info/compression etc.

    Anyone doing the process on a Mac? I see a FAQ brewing...

    Cheers

    M
     
  14. JFBUK

    JFBUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not a Mac user but apparently DVD Shrink WILL run under "Virtual PC" on a MAC and there is a program called Mactheknife and both are freeware I think. These might do the job for you
     
  15. Mark Bennett

    Mark Bennett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Thanks to all the people who have offered to dupe across the series to DVD-R for me. Its now being done.

    As for encoding on the Mac, I found an app called MPEG2 Works and ran it on a VRO file last night. Will have a look at it later and see what I need to do next.

    If I sort it out I'll write a how to/faq or some such.

    Cheers

    M
     

Share This Page

Loading...