1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can someone clarify my connection question?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by loofer, Dec 12, 2004.

1. loofer

loofer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, i'm new to the surround sound thing and am trying to get my head around some of the connection issues, i was hoping to get some clarification here. Basically i'm trying to decide between an all in one system or a dedicated amp and speaker set up.

I have a tv with one RGB scart and one normal scart at the back with an s-video + L/R audio at the front.

I am connecting an x-box and a VHS recorder (to be replaced next year with DVD recorder) along with an amp/all-in-one sound system

I want to get the best picture quality i can so i wanted to use the RGB scart on the tv for my x-box so i had a couple of questions

1) If i plug my xbox into the rgb scart and play it through the tv with an amp plugged into the second scart am i right in thinking the xbox still has access to the surround sound? in other words does it have to be plugged into the amp to get the sound effect or is anything played through the tv fed into the amp anyway.

2) Would most 300 pound amps have multiple RGB scarts at the back? meaning i could simply plug my xbox and dvd recorder into the amp and plug the amp into my tv's rgb scart.

3) would an optical audio connection give superior sound to an rgb scart connection?

Any feedback is much appreciated, thanks.

2. Dfour

Dfour

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +85
    1/ Unless its setup to do it you wont get anything from the second scart as they are usually in, not out (i think).
    2/ VERY FEW amps at all have any let alone multiple scarts on them.