can someon explain 50/60 hz ?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by mrgrill, Nov 2, 2004.

1. mrgrill

mrgrill

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie, both to this forum and Xbox. I was wondering if someone could explain the difference using 50 or 60 hz. I read in many places that 60 is better, but why? And can I set my xbox to play on 60hz on any TV. I have a basic 22" samsung. Does setting the xbox have anything to do with the Hz of a TV. I guess my TV has a flicker rate of 50hz. So do I need a 100hz TV?

It's all very confusing for me? :confused:

2. Sinzer

Sinzer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,117
    50/60 is the refresh rate of the TV, essentially it could be worded as PAL/NTSC.

50Hz is the refresh rate of PAL TVs, in gaming terms it usually means that the game runs slower, but also means that picture quality will be slightly improved although you are likely to suffer borders.

60Hz runs 17.5% faster, removes any borders on the screen yet might look slightly worse, although this is really not noticeable.

The bottom line is that if you can support 60Hz then use it every time :)

3. Fatbob1080

Fatbob1080

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +49
    If only all games were optimised for pal 60. I can never tell if a game is running *too* fast in pal 60, like it was only optimised for pal 50. My cousin cant play fifa in anything other than pal 50, and games like tony hawks seem too fast in pal 60 aswell. Then theres halo 1. There was some timing problem in pal 60 where it would skip a frame every 6 frames or something giving a slight juddering effect to moving but pal 50 ran nice and smooth, but suffered some slowdown when lots was going on. Damn different refresh rates. Damn them all!

4. t-force

t-force

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +150