1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can somebody offer some advise on a replacement sub?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Symey, Mar 30, 2005.

1. Symey

Symey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys

not an expert so please bear with me on this - i have a denon 500 all in one sustem ehich im happy with - the only thing is im not 100% the sub is doing the business for me. it may be that my living room is rather empty at the moment after having just decorated and put my new system in but im a little woried...

my furniture etc is on the way, in the meantime i wondered if there is any sub you would recommend along the same type of styling/colour as the one that comes with the denon? like i say im not an expert on these so not sure whats compstibe and whats nor - would it be easy to integrate a new one? simply replace?

any help appreciated, just wanted some food for thought whilst i wait for the rest of my room to arrive!

Best regs

sy

2. Symey

Symey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    25 views and no reply? is there anybody who can help me out here?

regs

sy

3. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    What sort of price bracket have you got in mind?

I havn't heard the sub that you already own but something like this would almost certainly be a big step up if you still need a small cabinet size:
    http://www.bkelec.com/new/Special_Offers/sp10.htm

There's also a similar but slightly less powerful model:
    http://www.bkelec.com/new/Special_Offers/sp9.htm

It would also be worth considering the Velodyne's in the subwoofer Power Buy section and some of the MJ Acoustics range. :)

EDIT: I've just checked and it appears that the Denon sub in your package is a passive model. Is there definitely a dedicated subwoofer preout that you can use on your main unit?

4. Symey