Can Prog Scan recorders output without recording.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mcaw, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. mcaw

    mcaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do the Prog Scan recorders ouput the normal TV tuner in Prog Scan without Recording to DVD.
    Similarly do they convert any connected device to Prog Scan without having to record and playback.
     
  2. sub

    sub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I'd also like to know the answer to this...
     
  3. mcaw

    mcaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anybody ?
    Can they output any connected device in Prog Scan without recording?
     
  4. geordie

    geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Enfield, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +3
    I doubt it, but do not know. There is a separate forum for progressive scan, four up from the bottom of the list, I suggest you re-post your question there.
     
  5. sub

    sub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted a similar question on another forum a few days ago. One member did reply to say that their Philips DVDR80 did indeed ouput live TV (being watched through their recorder) as progressive scan.

    This is good news for me. I was previously thinking about getting iScan Ultra deinterlacer $$$. Now, I'll probably go with a Philips DVD recorder instead. These recorders contain the highly regarded Faroudja deinterlacing chipset.
     
  6. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry for bumping such an old thread, but does anybody know if this is a general feature across the popular DVD recorders. i.e. Can you use them as a deinterlacer.
    Many thanks
    Azzo
     
  7. sgruniss

    sgruniss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have the panasonic DMR E85 and ANY signal input is also outputted from component.
     
  8. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    sgruniss that's great news. One more question, can you output RGB and component at the same time. (I'm guessing not)
    Azzo
     
  9. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Providing the output is active you will usually get the signal type specified. So if a machine has Component RCA sockets, RGB/s-video/composite scart, s-video mini-din, and a composite RCA socket then you will get all signal types simultaneously. There is, after all, nothing to turn them of, usually only to specify what comes out of the scart. The audio sockets (RCA and digital if present) will be active all the time.
    So there should be no reason why Progressive Scan should affect this arrangement
    Also, scarts set to RGB usually send composite at the same time.
     
  10. TobyW

    TobyW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've just bought a Sony plasma screen. Its instruction book says the VCR must be fed through a time base corrector. Also, I find it works better with progressive input, rather than interlaced.

    The Panny E85 performs both of those functions admirably. Also, as an experiment, I connected a digital tuner directly to the plasma as S-video, and also through the E85 as composite video (converting to progressive component video). The E85 route was the better!
     
  11. mrcoddy

    mrcoddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I like to add, I'd brought a Lite-On DVD Recorder a few weeks ago to use with my LCD TV via component just to watch the TV on, as the scarts on the LCD TV were crap.

    At first everything were ok, but as I tried to watch a flim on ITV2 or some other programmes, but the colours on people's faces kept changing to green and red. I believe this is something to do witht MacroVision in the signal.

    I was well p***ed off with it in the end and took it back to get a refund.

    So anybody whos looking to get this DVD recorder should stay well away from it.

    Carl.
     
  12. sgruniss

    sgruniss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I watch everything through my panasonic , Rgb , s-video , composite . either rgb to tv or component to the projecter .
     

Share This Page

Loading...