1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can Panny PW6 autoswitch to VGA port?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Uzey, Feb 11, 2004.

  1. Uzey

    Uzey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I get my Panasonic PW6 plasma display, I want to get the best picture possible from my Sky Digibox. I heard that the SCART cards for this model are poo so I thought of an RGB to VGA port converter.
    Does anyone know if this will 'autoswitch' to the relevant port on the display when I turn on my Digibox (as an RGB SCART would)?
    It would be a pain in the rump if I had to manually do it every time!!
    If not, would it autoswitch on an S-Video port or Component port?
    How bad are the Panny PW6 SCART modules?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    No, it won't auto switch. On SCART, there's a certain pin which does the auto switching that's no present on those other inputs.

    Yes, RGB via the RGB to Plasma VGA unit is still the best option. As one recent customer put it, it's like removing the fuzzy filter.

    I'm using these product (I also designed these), and switching between inputs isn't such a problem. There's a button on my remote which takes me right to the VGA input, and switching back to the component input is all part of switching my amp round and DVD player off.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  3. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 4 series has a option for initial imput so you can select pc(vga) component/av

    so on start up of the plasma it takes you straight to that imput.
    the 6 series proberly got this too.
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    On my 5 series I think you can get this from some sort of "installer" menu - although I honestly can't remember how to get to that menu.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  5. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +190
    Contrary to other views I use the scart terminal board with quintro+ and haven't looked back since. Quality is fine as far as Sky can be IMO, seems like the VGA option is a more expensive given the small (if any) improvement on Sky. Use some quality scart leads such as IXOS, QED etc and you should be fine.
     
  6. Uzey

    Uzey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers fella's!!!!!
     
  7. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    You can set the initial startup input by highlighting the 'UK English' language option in the menu and then holding the 'Surround' buton on the remote for a few seconds - this gets you to the expert menu where you can set the initial startup menu...

    JJ
     
  8. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +304
    I am also using the SCART board with my NTL cable and PQ is more than satisfactory, auto aspect switching is very important to me so SCART was the best option without buying one of John Sims' boxes as well as one of the aspect ratio switchers available in the power buys section.

    An ISF calibration from Gordon Fraser helped a great deal with PQ.
     
  9. Paden

    Paden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Is there much difference between the VGA & Component inputs?

    Cheers, Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...