1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can not get the surround speakers to work

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by ChrisFlem, Oct 5, 2005.

1. ChrisFlem

ChrisFlem

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope someone out there can help with this. I have a philips 32 in lcd and a panasonic dvd player with a 5.1 set up. I can not get the surround sound speakers to work when the TV comes through the speakers, but can get them all to work when playing a dvd.

I'm a bit new to all this hi fi business so i'm no doubt doing something daft. Does anyone have any suggestions, is it possible to do what I am trying to do?

Thanks

2. tujax

tujax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    TV output is stereo (or mono). If you want TV sound on surround speakers, you have to connect the tv audio output to the AVR (or some sound processor) and spread it to all your speakers, with "DPL II cinema mode" for example.

3. ChrisFlem

ChrisFlem

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks tujax.

what's "DPL II cinema" is it a feature i change on my dvd player?

4. tujax

tujax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Dolby Prologic II. That's simultaneous an enconding format (stuff several channels on only two) and a spreader technology (splits regular two channels on 5). This is usually setup on AVRs. What is your setup anyway? Just the DVD and the TV? Where are the speakers connected?

5. ChrisFlem

ChrisFlem

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahh, thought that was what it was. speakers come out of a subwoofer which is turn connected to the dvd player..........from memory. i have the tv audio output going into the dvd player. i only have tv and dvd.

6. tujax

tujax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6