Can my psu handle a 5850

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Destruction, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    I would highly recommend that you get a new power supply, probably something around the 650W mark, a decent one of which should be about £70. I would consider an Antec TruePower New or an XFX XXX Edition.

    It's not so much the quoted wattage that worries me about that PSU, it's the fact that it's from a manufacturer who are not known for making decent power supplies. It probably does not actually supply 500W and probably has a poor amperage on the +12V rail(s). It also doesn't actually have enough connectors for a 5850.
     
  3. Berties

    Berties
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +604
    check 12v rail, according to my research

    Radeon HD 5850 - 35-40A and a 500W PSU minimum

    Probably need to replace my PSU too :-(
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    They always base those estimates on a fairly beefy system, the 5850 itself uses about 150-160W(13A).

    A decent 500W PSU will be more than sufficient but your PSU isn't a decent one and bulks up it's output on the +3.3v and +5v lines which aren't used much today and only provides 18A on the +12V rail which is far too little for both the 5850 and 955.
     
  5. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    This.

    A decent 500W would be enough, but a cheaply made one like yours is not going to be good enough.

    I used to have a no-brand 500W with 18A on the +12V rail, then I learned a bit about PSUs and replaced it ASAP.
     
  6. Berties

    Berties
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +604
    Mine isn't a cheapy one it's Enermax Liberty. I guess back then 22A on the 12v rail would be enough but not now :-(
     
  7. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    I wasn't talking about your PSU being cheaply made, I was talking about the OP's :D

    A lot of people use Enermax PSUs and they're supposed to be very good.
     
  8. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would my psu be able to handle a 4850 and amd 955 since I already got both the psu and the graphics card and i do not wish to replace it immediately, because I want to save up for further upgrades
     
  9. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    It's less likely that you would encounter a problem, but I still wouldn't really want to trust a cheap PSU with any hardware.
     
  10. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How would you tell how much Watt the actual Psu gives because I bought the psu since on ebuyer the customer reviews sung it glories so i thought it would be good enough
     
  11. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    You'd have to get some kind of measuring tools, not sure exactly what but you'd need something to measure it with.

    Whilst customer reviews are great, I'd always look around for some professional reviews. Chances are if you can't find any for the product, it's not all that great (with exceptions being for cheaper cases and DVD drives).
     
  12. Berties

    Berties
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +604
    You need to test a PSU under load, basically it'll put resistance in the lines and see how many watts it'll output.
     
  13. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    Look at the label on the side of the power supply and see what the +12v lines (+12V or +12V1, +12V2 etc.) are each rated at. If it's a total of 18A like the link above then you can forget it, I wouldn't even try it with anything less than 25A and you'd normally be looking closer to 35A for that system.

    This is assuming it does actually output the very low amount it claims, even that is not guaranteed from an unbranded power supply unfortunately.
     
  14. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    And that's the problem really. A 955 and a 4850 would be fine with 500W and a decent amperage on the +12V rails, but I'd be surprised if it output 500W and very surprised if the amperage didn't total 18A.
     
  15. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
  17. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what does it mean that it is 80% efficient, does it mean it can supply 80% of the watt advertised ?
    so it is guranteed to supply 640watt?
     
  18. Berties

    Berties
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +604
    Probably means for 100W of power used, 20W is wasted to due power loss in the PSU gubbins.
     
  19. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    No, it means that at least 80% of the energy drawn from the mains supply is used for the PC, and the other (at most) 20% is wasted, mainly as heat.

    Just got an email saying about Berties's post, he is correct (can't be bothered to quote it).

    I knew this already, I just thought I'd post this anyway:

     
  20. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    It's difficult to say, at that price it may do. Given the lack of information about it on the ebuyer website combined with the lack of brand website I'd err on the side of caution. It'll probably provide the ~500W needed for your system but when you can get a well reviewed 500W unit for the same price why take the chance?
     
  21. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so doesn't the 80 plus certified or the efficiency reviews mean anything on to the value of the power it gives the system or should the buyer mainly concentrate on the brand of the psu to see its quality
     
  22. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    Brand is a good test of quality, but then you could fall into the trap of becoming one of those "Corsair PSUs are the only PSUs anyone should buy!" kind of people.

    Companies that are known for producing great PSUs can sometimes make one which isn't too good, for instance if they decide to switch to a different OEM.

    Therefore, it's a good idea to buy a PSU not based on the company, but based on feedback from other people (and I don't mean customer reviews on eBuyer) or from professional reviews.
     
  23. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Therefore, it's a good idea to buy a PSU not based on the company, but based on feedback from other people (and I don't mean customer reviews on eBuyer) or from professional reviews."

    I don't understand what other reviews are there though and could you recommend either a 500w that could run a 955 and then maybe run a 5850 later

    And what are your ideas on this deal

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/cool...-side-window-with-coolermaster-elite-500w-psu
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  24. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    Not when it's not actually 80 Plus Certified.

    Ideally you want to buy a power supply that's been hooked up to a load tester and checked to see if it can deliver it's claimed load and does so with voltages within the ATX specification. It's also usually safe to grab a unreviewed PSU from a brand whose other PSUs all deliver.

    If you can find a PSU from a name that looks reputable (e.g. it has a website) and has actual 80 Plus certification then it may be worth a punt but beyond that it's really a gamble. Anything from a big shop like ebuyer probably won't be the worst of the worst, blow up over 150W and take the entire system with it but it's quite possible it won't deliver all it promises.

    Coolermaster PSU are generally reasonable but that deal is probably no good for you as other sites only list it as having 1 PCI-E 6-pin connector and 5850s often need 2.

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/ does a lot of power supply reviews.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  25. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  26. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    You should be fine running two 5850s and a Phenom 965 on a TX-650. I'd probably recommend getting a 750W, but you should be okay.

    For just a single card, you'll have no problems :)
     
  27. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    Cooler Master generally make reasonably good PSUs, but the GX series is an exception. That one is pretty bad and usually begins to show signs of failure after outputting just 400W.

    Powercool are not a company I would buy a PSU from. A decent, non-modular 950W PSU will cost around £120.

    A decent 750W non-modular PSU will start at about £75.
     
  29. Destruction

    Destruction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  30. Ellis

    Ellis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    Yes, that's a solid unit. If it's not too much money, get that. It'll be sure to serve you well even if you decide to buy a second 5850 in the future.

    The single problem with it is that it's not modular, so you'll be left with a ton of cables lying around in your case that you're not using. It's not too much of a problem for most people though :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...