Can my phillips 17" lcd get the 720p or more??

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by toz66, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. toz66

    toz66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys simple question i have,after trying numerous cables ,adapters and god knows what else but with no joy.

    firstly ill tell you what connections i have on the tv, and then what i have tried.


    ok the tv has the following....

    DVI-D, (yes its the DVI-D version, meaning NO 4 pins on the end, just the straight horizontal one)

    RGB scart,

    component, (yellow, red, white)

    svh-s



    and i have tried the following.......

    the premium 360 cable, (the one with the tv/hd switch), only used the scart, or component. ( cant use composite as no green,red,blue connections on tv)
    worst picture of anything i tried, text virtually unreadable.

    VGA/360 cable, using a DVI-D to VGA adaptor, ( does not even get a picture on any setting on tv, says, "no input signal " when tried on the recommended "pc" setting.), read somewhere its because of the digital/analogue signals cant be done through an adaptor, (is that right??)

    and my "current" cable i have finally decided on using.....

    SVH-S,/RGB SCART, ( i can use any of these, and to be fair theres not much between them, and to be honest are the best picture i can get at standard 480p on the 360.)


    these are what cables i still have, so if you can advise then be really helpful.
    i have, the

    premium 360 cable
    VGA/360 cable
    SVH-S/RGB SCART.( current set up and being used in standard 480p)

    oh and final point to, at no point in all this have i been able to access any of the "better settings", 720p or better.(which is what i am trying to do)


    so guys, plain and simple question, given my tv connections, is there any way i can get to use my 360's 720p or better settings?, and if so which 360 cable i am after.
    or iam i simply trying something my tv/360 can not accomplish.

    its driving me mad , lol how hard can it be,

    cheers for any help guys, much appreciated.

    toz66
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    What model number is your 17" Philips, that would help.
     
  3. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    given the info,and no vga on the tv,then i would assume that you would have to stick with scart,and its output.
    but if you gave,like said above,the model no. of it,then we could glean more info possibly.
     
  4. rEVILospud

    rEVILospud
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Ratings:
    +235
    DVI-D is digital and since VGA is analogue, a VGA to DVI adapter will not work in a DVI-D socket, it would need to be DVI-I ideally.

    The Yellow, Red and White sockets on your TV are Composite not Component.

    Basically your TV does not have any HD capable analogue inputs; therefore the best you're going to get is RGB Scart, as Rottenfox assumed correctly.
     
  5. SpaceGhost

    SpaceGhost
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +33
    And in addition, you won't be getting 480p through an RGB Scart cable. Progressive scan is only achievable via component (not composite) or VGA.
     
  6. toz66

    toz66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the answers guys.....

    so it does indeed look like iam stuck with what ive got......

    and now i have had it up and running for a few days now, the best picture for me with this tv, is the svh-s connection.

    its not that bad i suppose, its even a massive improvement as everything is crisp and clear.
    so thanks again..

    oh btw the tv model is.....Philips 17PF4310
     
  7. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +451
    This review on Amazon seems to think differently...

     

Share This Page

Loading...