1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I use my digital camera as a webcam?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by mcfarfs, May 11, 2005.

  1. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi, I have a digital camera (Kodak Easyshare DX4900). Is it poss to use this as a webcam? It does have a video out, which looks like a 3.5mm or maybe 2.5mm socket.

    Is it possible to get a video - USB cable or something? Because my computer does not have a video -input i dont think.

    Cheers (sorry this is the wrong forum)
     
  2. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    9,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,218
    Interestng question! Although I've never useda webcam I always presumed they are just USB plug and play? And they are SO cheap now anyway aren't they?
     
  3. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeh i guess they prob are. But im kinda hoping there is a cable sumwhere out there whcih goes from video to usb. i have just realised i have a cable which goes from the video out on my camera to a video phono connector.

    So is tehre a cable to go from that to USB? anybody know?

    I think decent webcams are still quite expensive to be honest, and if i can use my camera itl be decent quality!
     
  4. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Actually, alternatively, is it possible to buy a video card (do they exist?!) with phono and video input?

    Because if i can get one of them i can put all the home videos on my PC and then to DVD!
     
  5. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    9,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,218
    I thought all digital camera's connected via USB and that was it. So if thats the case then it would just be software needed to use it as a webcam...
     
  6. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeh mine does, via a dock. But it also has a mini-usb out and a video out bit on the camera itself.
     
  7. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +95
    Some cameras can be used as a webcam and others cant. Unfortuantly there isnt just a cable that can convert composite video into a usb signal.

    You could get a video capture card and see if this works but I would suspect that it wouldnt due to the fact that (1) the quality is much higher than webcams and I doubt it would process in time (2) all software looking for a webcam feed will look for USB or possibly Firewire and not the composite in of a video capture card.

    As has been said before, given the price of webcams, if your camera doesnt support this out the box then just spend a few quid on a webcam
     
  8. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Ok cheers!
     
  9. bmthsteel

    bmthsteel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, i think a lot of the Kodak Range is incompatible with most webcam software.

    Unless you were to use a program that can make a Kodak camera work to be a webcam, and since it has a Video Out port, it would be better to buy a Video Out To USB cord.
     
  10. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    You did notice that the thread is 44 months old? ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...