1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can I use Bose cubes with a std amp

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Mr Bimmer, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. Mr Bimmer

    Mr Bimmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is it possible to use a pair of Bose double cubes as a rear chanel by wiring in a passive crossover? I really need some small rear speakers, and they must be white.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes but will require the bass unit as that is the crossover without that then you have tweeters that will be bolwn up!
    Am3 and AM5 will work or try gallo micros available in white
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The Bose cubes don't have tweeters.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. Mr Bimmer

    Mr Bimmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    What are Gallo like? I know they look good, which is important in my room, but how will they sound. My room is 29' X 13' with wooden floor, and painted walls. I am using Def Tech Mythos fronts and centre, with a BK XLS200 sub on it's way.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Gallos would be ok is it for 5.1 movies or DVD-a SACD as well?
     
  7. Mr Bimmer

    Mr Bimmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mainly music with about 15% movies. Style is important, Thats why I haven't gone for the M&K5s.
     
  8. Mr Bimmer

    Mr Bimmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    By the way, the amp is a Pioneer AX5i
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Stereo music?
    its going to possibly sound a bit odd what ever you choose if you can hide the bass module then BOSE am5 will be very unobtrusive they do lack midrange not sure how important that would be with your other speakers though
     
  10. z5461313

    z5461313
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +179
    Could you try connecting the 2 Bose speakers as 'Small' type to the amplifier

    Then all bass will go to the sub-woofer

    By they way I think the dual cubes sound better than the single cubes
     
  11. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,032
    This is my main criticism of Bose. You should not drive their satellites directly; only via the 'Acoustimass' module. Drive them directly and you run the real risk of killing them.

    Take a look at Energy Take 5 (or 5.2) as an alternative, very compact (and nice sounding IMO) alternative for your satellites.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    If you built or bought a dedicated crossover/filter that work at the correct frequency then it would be fine, but thats a lot of messing around.
     
  13. Mr Bimmer

    Mr Bimmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Guys. I will look into the crossover route.
     

Share This Page

Loading...