Can i use a Sky HD box from ebay?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bluevortex, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    Hi

    I have just taken delivery of a 46" Sony LCD. I currently feed it with Sky+. I am tempted to upgrade to a Sky HD box. I am setup with 2 feeds into the house and pay the £10 recording fee on top of my package. I have seen a Sky HD box on a popular auction site - is it just a case i can buy one of these and plug it in? Or does Sky need to supply the box etc??

    Cheers

    Blue
     
  2. tonkie

    tonkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +897
    I bought my second HD box off ebay, look at this link it will show you what to do


    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/printthread.php?t=491562
     
  3. ittim

    ittim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    if your prepared to pay the £10 sub for 12months then get a new one from midsat for £164. (Assuming you have skyplus installed )
     
  4. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80

    Is this the same £10 sub im paying for Sky+ or an additional £10 on top of that?
     
  5. ittim

    ittim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    its the hd sub, which allows you to subscribe to the hd channels. if you already have sky plus and 1 premium channel then you'd basically be paying the extra tenner. it would be the same if you purchased one from ebay, the only difference being that you wouldn't have to do this with an ebay one. (unless you wanted the hd channels)

    its a little confusing to be honest.

    in short, i have the sky world package. say for arguments sake it costs me £45 pm to add the hd functionality you then pay £55.
     
  6. J Roadley

    J Roadley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +55
    That £10 sub is a real pain, as I would love a second HD box for the bedroom but can't justify more money to SKY :(
     
  7. tonkie

    tonkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +897
    You do not pay £10 for the sky+ and HD, you will only pay the £10 for the HD as the + is free when you pay for the HD
     
  8. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    At present i pay £31

    Sky entertainment £21 + £10 recording fee. I have no sports or movies.

    If i get the HD box would it still be £31 with no sports or movies?

    Sorry just want to clarify before buying one

    Cheers Blue
     
  9. nickeddle

    nickeddle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Yorks Moors National Park
    Ratings:
    +10
    Exactly, if you have HD the £10 for + is waived.
     
  10. bluevortex

    bluevortex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    Thanks. That clears it up
     
  11. tonkie

    tonkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +897
    If I did not have the sport or movies I think I would cancel my HD subs as the sport is the main reason I have got HD
     
  12. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    If the OP is currently paying £10/month for Sky+ functionality and has a HD ready TV, it makes sense to spend the same amount and have HD for some programmes.

    A lot of the big US shows on Sky One are HD and some of the ones that are not look better upscaled (at least in my opinion e.g. Nip/Tuck) and if you like Documentaries etc then HD is well-covered.

    Also to confirm the OPs questions - buy one off eBay and yes just plug it in and call Sky to pair the card with the box and activate the HD sub. But as some one else pointed out contact midsat and get it for £164 delivered rather than the 'more risky' eBay approach.
     

Share This Page

Loading...