• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Can I swap from Sky to Freeview

T

trevshaw

I currently have Sky via a Panasonic receiver linked to my old Sony tv (crt). I'm thinking of changing to Freeview, by getting another digital receiver like maybe a Humax that can be a PVR too. My question is whether I can just connect the new receiver to the satellite dish for it to work, or will the dish need repositioning?

Also, the set up currently has a single LNB, will I need to increase to a double or quad to use a PVR, and if so do I need extra cables to go from the LNBs to .... what?

I'm new to this technology and need help so my thanks to anyone who can help.

mbell

You can whip out your Sky box and replace it with a FREESAT box, which is very similar to Freeview. Have a look at freesat - Home. Freesat signals come from the same satellite as Sky.

You can use a single cable but you won't be able to record one channel whilst recording another. In order to be able to do that, you will need a dual or quad LNB fitted to your dish and run two cables to the receiver.

ROYOLD

Freeview is digital terrestial and requires an aerial, probably outside roof mounted. Can you receive freeview terrestial? Postcode into this website for details and type of aerial required.

UK digital TV reception predictor

You can probably get freesat using the sky dish but you will need extra LNB cables for this. I don't have this but you should get details in the FREESAT FORUM:

Freesat - AVForums.com

T

trevshaw

You can whip out your Sky box and replace it with a FREESAT box, which is very similar to Freeview. Have a look at freesat - Home. Freesat signals come from the same satellite as Sky.