Can I still view movies on Sky+ if I now cancel the channels from Sky?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Stevie G, Mar 8, 2003.

  1. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    I've got a number of movies recorded on my Sky+ box from Sky Movies and Moviemax. If I downgrade my package (to just sports and Filmfour) will I still be able to view the movies I recorded when I was paying for the channels, or do Sky block them?

    Thanks.....
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The movies are cached to the hard drive as bitstream data with the encryption intact so to view them you will require a valid subscription to the channel they were recorded off.
    So if you cancel SKY movies now you will not be able to view the movies currently recorded onto the hard drive from those channels.
     
  3. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    :eek:
    That's terrible, but I did have a feeling. I think that's disgusting that I can't watch movies recorded when I was paying for the channels! Typical Sky!

    :thumbsdow

    Oh well.....thanks.....!
     
  4. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you would have to of course copy them onto dvd-r or vhs
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Ah, but you weren't paying for the programming you recorded as it never went through the decoder, you subscribe to view the programming and that is only required on playback.
    Of course you are paying £10 for the ability to cache the data for later decoding/viewing, factor that cost in and it starts to get complicated:)

    I suppose that is one limitation of a bitstream recorder coupled with strong encryption, there no picture quality loss as there is no need to encode to mpegII and then decode again and you can not leave any sort of key to Videoguard which would allow an encrypted datastream to be decoded without a valid card.
     
  6. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thats mad, may have to get a Tivo instead then :D
     
  7. sanderton

    sanderton
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    On the other hand you could record three months worth of movies with no sub, then subscribe for one month and watch them all! Swings and roundabouts...

    The annoying thing is that IIRC if a hailstorm or whatever puts your dish out of action, you can't watch any recordings!
     
  8. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    really?

    that is worth knowing

    you only really need to sub to movies every 3 or 4 months then
     
  9. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yeah, that sounds like a very good idea!
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    That's what I did last year on the runup to christmas.
    Recorded a number of Premier W/S movies with DD5.1 and then subscribed for one month over the holidays watched the films I had recorded plus a few others that were on at the time on the other channels.
     
  11. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,475
    if you used a TIVO, you wouldn't of had a problem!
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    TIVO has suddenly turned into a bitstream recorder and is capable of recording DD5.1 as well then?
    :)
     
  13. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,475
    well since 5.1 is only available on 3 channels on sky, i don't think it makes much difference!

    and as for bitsream recorder, it doesn't have to be.
     

Share This Page

Loading...