1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I recyclye my stereo speakers for surround?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Speakers' started by brummer, Aug 3, 2005.

1. brummer

brummer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm a newbie so go easy on the Jargon please. I am about to install a projector/screen and surround sound in my living room. I currently have a pair of Celestion Ditton II speakers which I purchased 14 years ago as part of my component system. I would love to re-use them as part of a surround system for the home theatre as well. It would save me a fair whack if I only need to buy Centre/ Sub and Rears.

Will this work? Would I need to find new speakers that matched my existing spekers in some way and if so can you check the specs before purchasing to see if it matches?

As background, my "home theatre has" to fit a budget and my wife's approval re "ugly black boxes" around the lounge room. Because it's not a dedicated room and needs to be relatively unobtrusive (ie small or ceiling mounted rears) I am happy to sacrafice some sound quality as long as I get the surround feeling. In other words I'm not a serious audiophile who can pick if their left speaker is 1cm off centre just by listening but I don't want to spend $6000 - $8000 Aussie Dollars (thats about 20 quid on current exchange rates ;) ) and have crap sound.

thanks for any feedback. PM's welcome also

2. Harry T2

Harry T2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Brummer,

Yes you can use your existing speakers. In terms of matching them, you will not be able to get the info of the spec. The idea of matching is to have tonally matching speakers so that as the sound pans across the screen, the sound is similar from each of the 3 speakers.