Can I put a switch on a light plugged into the mains?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by busterbenny2001, Feb 21, 2018.

  1. busterbenny2001

    busterbenny2001
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Tavistock
    Ratings:
    +3,503
    Probably a simple question to those in the know but thought I’d ask, clearing out my shed and have a 13amp socket in there, I have wired an led spotlight to a plug, meant for an outside light so hope that’s ok first, this lights up the shed nicely but was wondering firstly if wat I had done was ok, it’s not a lamp but a spotlight.

    Secondly if so is it possible to put an in line switch or wall switch on it to,control from entry point of the shed or is that a big no no.

    Thanks
     
  2. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    67,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +48,663
    If it's on flexible ie round profile cable, then an online switch will be fine.
     
  3. busterbenny2001

    busterbenny2001
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Tavistock
    Ratings:
    +3,503
    Excellent thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...