• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Can I link all my sources through one receiver to my plasma?

W

weazel

Sorry if this is an obvious question, but I'm still learning the ropes!

I've got the usual collection of sources - Sky box, DVD player, PS3, video recorder, etc. Is it possible to plug them all into the back of a receiver, for them all to be linked to my plasma screed via one HDMI cable?

This sounds nice and easy with only one cable to hide in conduit between the receiver and the plasma. If it's not possible, do I need a scart for all the analogue sources and an HDMI cable for the digital sources?

Can anyone suggest a receiver with 7.1 output that might best handle the above, and suit a large room, approx 8.0m x 7.0m?

Thanks

yetanotherbob

First of all, welcome to the forum :D

AS I am currently relocating everything onto one stand, I have just done exactly that, using a Sony 5200ES. You will be able to do it with a large number of the Onkyos, Sonys and Denons that are currently being released.

The only stumbling block you may come across, is if you have a box that only outputs RGB via SCART and has no component connectors, in which case you may have to use an RGB to component converter or resort to using composite.

Just look for an amp that states it "upconverts" analogue sources to HDMI, or if you want the amp to upscale the image prior to sending it up to the screen, one that "upscales"

Bob

EddyHorn

First of all, welcome to the forum :D

AS I am currently relocating everything onto one stand, I have just done exactly that, using a Sony 5200ES. You will be able to do it with a large number of the Onkyos, Sonys and Denons that are currently being released.