1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I have a HCPC and will it be any good ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dUnKle, Apr 16, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,333
    Ok have a P4 2.66Ghz CPU - WinXP - 512MB of Ram and ATI Radeon 9800 Pro and The latest Creative Audigy internal Soundcard

    I also have a Panasonic AE100 Projector

    Currently watch DVDs via my Toshiba 510 which is connected via component out to the PJ and optical out to my Denon A1D

    So the questions are

    What cable do I need to connect my video card to the PJ

    and will I notice anything better by using my PC ?
     
  2. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +129
    If you have DVI on the PJ, use that. Otherwise use VGA. If you have neither of those, you will need a DVI to component converter.

    Use a good DVD player - I like Theatertek, but Zoomplayer, WinDVD and others are all very good - and you will be gobsmacked at the quality of the playback. Takes some time to get it set up properly but well worth it.
     
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,333
    Ok - so what cable do I need to connect my graphics card to the PJ?

    My card has standard VGA out and DVI out - the DVI is currently connected to my monitor
     
  4. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AE100 doen't have a dvi - so you should use the VGA.

    Get powerstrip and do a search in this forum for the 1:1 pixel mapping settings.

    I find both powerdvd and windvd give good images (particularily powerdvd 5 imo).

    The picture is very good with VGA and powerstrip

    I think you'll see a good improvement over the toshiba - much better colours and detail.

    Good luck
     
  5. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All items for sale/wanted in the hardware classifieds please.

    [Kramer]
     
  6. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,333
    Thanks for offer but im going to need about 10 meters to do it

    Just what sort of performance and image can I hope to get? and what are the benefits?
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,333
    What would I ned powerstrip for ?

    What would it do

    and just how much of an improvement could I hope for ?
     
  8. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Powerstrip lets you optimise the settings to get 1:1 pixel mappings. I got my settings from another thread. The resolution to run 1:1 is 856 x 480.

    I have used dvd as sources as well as pcs and the difference is worth having. If its well set up you'll see no or less screen judders in pan shots, richer colours and more detail. No dvd player that I have tried has looked as good. You also have lots of picture adjustment controls with eg windvd or powerdvd.

    All you need to try it is a 10m cable. Shouldn't cost too much.
     
  9. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,333
    Anyone know where I can obtain a 10m Male to Male Monitor cable from please ?

    Tried Maplins catalouge and they only have a 2M cable
     
  10. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    i believe lindy.co.uk have a wide selection of ok VGA cables.
     
  11. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my dvi cable from

    www.cableuniverse.co.uk

    It arrived within 2 days.

    I think their website is down at the moment - try later.

    I'm pretty sure they do 10m cables.
     

Share This Page

Loading...