can I get sky to replace my digibox?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by jmjm, Oct 30, 2002.

  1. jmjm

    jmjm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a 5 year old rubbish Grundig one that Sky gave me when I first got Sky - no optical output - can I get sky to replace it without upgrading to Sky+ ?

    Has anyone tried? What happens if it "breaks"?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Well first of all SKY digital has only been out for 4 years and correct me if I am wrong but the grundig didn't appear until early '99 as PACE supplied the initial batch.

    If you expect SKY to just give you a £169 retail digibox for nothing then you are living in cloud cuckoo land:)
    Now if you report your digibox as faulty they will send an engineer out for £65 and he may replace the digibox with a refurbished model or if you are lucky a brand new one. If you don't want to pay anything then ask to cancel your subscription and they "may" try to keep you by offering a free call out.

    SKY will never give you a SKY+ digibox in exchange for a "faulty" standard digibox and if a DD 5.1 enabled optical output is what you want then the cheapest deal is £199 with conditions:)

    Either way if you own the hardware you have to accept the fact that outside the warranty you are responsible just like anyother piece of domestic electronics you purchase.
     
  3. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this problem at the begining of the year. Sky would gladly charge me £150 for a new box and £65 to come out and plug it in, they insisted they had to come out!

    So I got a second hand one cheap from http://www.ebay.co.uk

    Plug it all in, pop your viewing card in, and all you have to do is call Sky so they can link your card to the box, no problems at all!
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheap and eBay, now that's what I call an oxymoron!


    I think you were very lucky!


    DaveP
     
  5. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not at all, I've got loads of bargains off ebay.
    My pace sky box was £35, it didnt have a remote, but that was no problem, just used my existing one.
     
  6. jmjm

    jmjm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well first of all SKY digital has only been out for 4 years and correct me if I am wrong but the grundig didn't appear until early '99 as PACE supplied the initial batch.

    It might be only 4 years but it is definitely Grundig and it is definitely crap! I have to reset it 2/3 times a night.

    If you expect SKY to just give you a £169 retail digibox for nothing then you are living in cloud cuckoo land:)

    Why not? They gave me the first one when I subscribed to their service.

    SKY will never give you a SKY+ digibox in exchange for a "faulty" standard digibox and if a DD 5.1 enabled optical output is what you want then the cheapest deal is £199 with conditions:)

    Do you work for Sky? I don't want Sky +, I want a standard digibox with optical output if that's possible and I don't want 4 year old, crap hardware.

    Either way if you own the hardware you have to accept the fact that outside the warranty you are responsible just like any other piece of domestic electronics you purchase.

    Yes but I didn't choose this piece of hardware - Sky did, so it isn't like all the other domestic electronics I have carefully researched and selected. Sky presumably give out free digiboxes as they make the money from the subs, like mobile phones. Mobile phone providers do upgrade paths - I don't think it is unreasonable to expect Sky to.

    Anyway they clearly don't so I will get a second hand pace one as advised.
     
  7. cmax

    cmax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Ringwood, HANTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant comment on whether you would receive this support, but I can comment on how I was treated.

    When I phoned sky to cancel, complaining of a faulty skybox, they offered a 'free of charge' engineers visit (normally £65) which would result in a replacement box if mine couldnt be fixed...

    So, if youre prepared to cancel, then you could try this tact.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    No I don't work for SKY.
    You mentioned the "no optical output" so I assumed that an optical output was important to you on the next digibox you get. Since only the SONY has an optical output on a standard digibox(No DD5.1 though) and SONY no longer supply SKY with digiboxes I thought giving you some info on SKY+ as that is the only digibox that SKY now offer with an optical output would be of interest.

    If my assumption about the optical output was wrong then you have my apologises, if I was right and SKY+ isn't a consideration then you will have to buy a second hand SONY or pay retail price from a dealer.
     
  9. Tejpal

    Tejpal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem :(

    A 3 Year old First Genaration Pace box. But sky dont care, "Sigh", what a surprise
     

Share This Page

Loading...