Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Can I do this with a Freeview box?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by fatmarl, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. fatmarl

    fatmarl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    At the moment I only receive terrestrial TV. I have a VCR and DVD recorder. The way I have things set up at the moment, I can, for example, record BBC1 on my VCR, BBC2 on my DVD recorder and watch ITV all at the same time. I am thinking of getting a Freeview box. Would I be able to have a similar set up to my present one? Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. nig28

    nig28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Yes, If you have 2 scart sockets on all your pruducts, connect them via scart.
    TV > VCR > DIGIBOX
    TV > DVDR > DIGIBOX

    Nigel
     
  3. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Yes but, unless you use analogue (until it's switched off) you'll need a Freeview box for your TV viewing and another Freeview box for recording. Connect them both to the aerial via a suitable amplifier. (You can try an ordinary splitter but it will probably lose too much signal).
     
  4. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +29
    I assume you mean would you be able to record 2 channels from the Freeview box on both the VCR and the DVD recorder at the same as watching a third Freeview channel on the TV. The simple answer is no, as a standard Freeview box only contains 1 Feeeview tuner.

    To do something similar to what you do now you would either have to:
    1) Buy 3 Freeview boxes and dedicate one to the VCR, one to the DVD recorder & one to the TV - this has obvious problems with regard to needing to find space for 3 more boxes, as well as buying different brands so that the remote codes (hopefully) don't clash.
    2) Replace your TV, VCR and DVD recorder with models with built-in Freeview tuners. Obviosuly the problem here is the expense.
    3) Buy a twin-tuner Freeview hard disc recorder. Using this you could watch one channel on your TV while recording another to the hard disc. Should you still need to record a third channel from Freeivew at the same time you would need another Freeview box of some description to record from.
     
  5. mh123

    mh123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Offshore UK
    Ratings:
    +72
    Ditch the VCR as a recording medium and buy a Freeview box with HDD.
     
  6. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    Or get a VCR with a built-in DTT receiver.

    Like THIS Daewoo
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice