1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can I convert a PAL-B/G signal to a PAL-I signal?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Duster, Jun 20, 2003.

  1. Duster

    Duster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Sorry if this sounds abit mad.

    Is there any way you can convert a PAL-B/G signal to a PAL-I signal ? Is there a box that can be purchased that can do this?

    Thanks for any info.....
     
  2. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    What exactly are you trying to do?

    If you're trying to use a Euro video recorder with a UK TV and find the sound doesn't work when connected via the aerial lead, then using a scart lead will sort out the problem.

    If it's using a UK tv in Europe then the TV either needs modifying (if possible at reasonable cost) then again, using a Euro video via scart will allow the video to 'decode' the correct sound and vision and pass it through to the TV via the scart.
     
  3. Duster

    Duster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Thank you for your reply.

    Yes, this is what i'm trying to do.
    Do you know if I use a UK digital Sky receiver with a scart lead with a Euro video recorder or a Euro DVD recorder would I be able to record sound and picture OK from the UK digital Sky receiver ?

    Thanks for the info.
     
  4. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Yes this will work fine. The main difference between PAL B/G and PAL is the sound carrier spacing which only matters if you are using it via RF, i.e. to receive off air broadcasts or using the RF output to feed a UK TV.
     
  5. Duster

    Duster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys, thats great help:smashin:
     
  6. terry25

    terry25
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am interested in the modification aspect. What needs to be modified? Is changing the tuners enough? What components needs to be changed?
     
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,909
    Terry, don't know if you're aware the post you're replying to is almost 6 yrs old.
    Things have moved on a bit since then.
     
  8. terry25

    terry25
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are right Jaycee and yes it's a bit old but just in case someone has a solution, you know.
     
  9. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,032
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,909
    Years ago you would change a couple of coils or xtals but some modern sets can be changed by an adjustment to software within the service menu.
    If you're asking about a particular model you need to provide the make and model no.
     
  10. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    Wow a blast from the past!

    I suspect many modern TV's have the ability to switch to UK or Euro PAL either as a user menu tuning option or a hidden service menu... for example many (if not all) recent Sony LCD's ask which country you're using it in and sets the settings accordingly (PAL I for UK, SECAM for France or whatever)

    Older TV's needed some hardware modifications and often they never worked as well as a proper PAL BG or PAL I version (the sound would be thin and tinny)
     
  11. radioredcat

    radioredcat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    st helens
    Ratings:
    +72
    I was asked to look at a toshiba portable because no sound just a hiss.
    I found the set had somehow switched to B/G and D/K but no system I in the menu and originally only had system I and no B/G D/K.
    Looking at the service manual didn't help either so it was left as it worked ok via the scart.

    Terry why do you want to know this info.
     
  12. GRC50

    GRC50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Newbury or Portugal (depending on when)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I have an old Panasonic TX-28PL10 UK standard TV which I would ideally like to convert to PAL B/G for use over here in Portugal. I can't find a free service manual online so I don't know if there's an accessible parameter somewhere to set the PAL standard of whether it's a tuner hardware change. Seems a pity to junk the TV but I can't even give it to charity without getting the sound back.

    Any input gratefully received.

    Thanks

    GRC
     
  13. NST

    NST
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +57
    I think that set uses the Euro4H chassis, so you could try finding the manual for that. As previously suggested, you'd still be better off connecting a digital TV box (cable, satellite or terrestrial) to the SCART instead.
     
  14. GRC50

    GRC50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Newbury or Portugal (depending on when)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct and Thanks given - it does use the Euro4H chassis and I found a TX-28LB10F service manual (same chassis) online but can see no mention of changing the receiving system. Not sure if my TX-28PL10 has significant differences to LB10 (apart from widescreen & cosmetics).

    Which is exactly what we did (Sky box) till we plumped for a new LCD set. Just want to try to fix the Panny for use in Portugal and then find her a deserving new home.

    Obrigado (thank you)

    GRC
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  15. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    See if it has a setup or tuning menu that asks for either the PAL Standard or Country to be set before (re)tuning.

    Chris muriel, Manchester
     
  16. GRC50

    GRC50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Newbury or Portugal (depending on when)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Went looking but it just offers normal manual / auto-tune options. It specifically states "UK Standard" both on the set and User Manual.

    I even got this response from Panasonic UK for whom I used to work many years ago:-

    "To clarify, to obtain full operation from your television in Portugal, it would be necessary to have it converted.

    Panasonic do not, themselves, carry out such conversion and cannot, therefore, conclusively state whether it is either possible or indeed cost effective. However, there may be companies listed on the web who can assist."

    Not particularly helpful but does seem to suggest (unfortunately) a hardware change. :(

    Still - we'll see what other ideas surface ...

    GRC
     
  17. Cliff

    Cliff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Kent & overseas
    Ratings:
    +1,727
    It will probably need extra hardware in the shape of a VHF tuner. UK sets usually have just a UHF tuner.
    You might be able to change the sound spacing using the menu but then you will only get PAL G and not PAL B which is the VHF side.
     
  18. robinofloxley

    robinofloxley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Why are the dates all screwy?
     

Share This Page

Loading...