Can I convert 7-pin S-Video to 1080p for the TV?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ManMat1846, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. ManMat1846

    ManMat1846
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I want to connect a pimped but old laptop to my TV with a full HD connection.

    The only AV outputs it has are:
    VGA (but it's a business laptop so unlikely to support TV OUT/DDC)
    7-pin S-Video

    Also:
    USB/3.5mm mic and headphones (obviously)
    PCI Express,
    And a mysterious output called '1394'?

    The laptop is a Dell Vostro 1700 (I know, but it's mostly replacement parts and works like a dream) and the screen resolution is 1980 x 1200.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. KelvinS1965

    KelvinS1965
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17,062
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,991
    You can do what you want using a video processor such as a DVDO Edge (secondhand for under £200 in the classifieds). However, the result is still only upscaled: Regardless of source, once it is output from the laptop as S-Video it is downscaled (if necessary) to 576i so that's all you'll be seeing. This is not necessarily going to look any better than connecting your S-Video connector directly to your TV as the TV will upscale internally as required.

    A separate video processor may do a better job, but it's still trying to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear as once the signal has been downscaled to 576i then nothing can make it as good as native HD again.

    1394 is a Firewire connector. I don't think there is any use for this in terms of video output as it's a bit like a USB type device so you would need some kind of external card/box that could use it more likely for data transfer rather than video.
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,504
    What Inputs do you have on the HDTV?

    Joe
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,174
    Check the TV manual, it's not unusual for one of the scarts to have s-video capability.
     
  5. ManMat1846

    ManMat1846
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The TV has:

    HDMI
    S-Video
    Scart
    YPbPr component
    Ordinary (?) component (red, white & yellow)
    RS-232C (control & service)
    RGB/DVI
    USB
    PCIMCA card slot

    TV is 50" full HD so, obviously, the higher the definition the better!

    Thanks for any help...
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,504
    Ordinary 'component' - should read 'Composite video + stereo audio'.

    You mention RGB/DVI - is there not a VGA Input on the TV?

    If not does the TV support 1920x1080 pixels at 50 & 60Hz on its DVI Input?

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...