1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I connect 2 devices to my router via one CAT 5 Cable??

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Monster, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    Basically, I have redecorated my living room and plastered in all the cables. Having finished, I am now considering putting an old PC in my living room for internet use. :lesson:

    I currently have a Cat 5 cable that goes from the X Box in the living room up to the router in my home office.

    Is it possible to connect both the X Box and PC to the router via one cable?? A 2 into 1 junction perhaps?? I would only be using one piece of equipment at a time.

    Any advice would be appreciated...

    Suffice to say I should not be typing this now, I should be on Live!! Frag out :suicide:
     
  2. sapperjohn

    sapperjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
  4. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks. It sounds like it is possible which is good news!

    But... the cable that is in the living room has the plastic plug in it the goes straight into the X Box. I don't have a wall socket. Would this plug into the Ethernet hub and the 2 devices also plug into the inputs of the hub? Do I need some sort of adaptor to change the plug end of the cable?

    The 2 into 1 connector looks like a cheap option but again I don't have a wall socket and would like to avoid more breaking out and decorating. Not a clue what you mean about 10 or 100Tbase :confused:
     
  5. sapperjohn

    sapperjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +6
    Monster

    There are 5 ethernet ports on this hub.
    Your cat 5 cable to your router will plug into port 5 on the hub and ports 1 to 4 you can connect any other ethernet devices.

    Or if you want to use a splitter then Maplin do a simple doubler which you can join to your existing cable with their RJ45 coupler. As long as you only use one device at a time it should work fine.

    Doubler

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=22423&TabID=1&source=14&doy=23m1

    Coupler

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=24632&TabID=1&source=14&doy=23m1
     
  6. Monster

    Monster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks Sapperjohn. You are a star!
     
  7. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    Just what I was about to point you in the direction of...

    10/100/1000 base T is the speed. 100 is the norm these days, but 1000 is becoming cheaper and more popular. You will often see 1000 refered to as "Gigabit LAN" on some motherboards etc.

    Rob.
     

Share This Page

Loading...