1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I connect 2 amps to 1 set of speakers?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Dwayne Dibley, May 7, 2005.

  1. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    I know this is probably a complete newbie question.... so apologies.... sorry.

    I have a Trio amp and a Yamaha AV amp and ideally would like to connect both to a single pair of mission speakers.... Why?... As space (and funds) are at a premium I can't yet justify 2 sets of speakers.

    I have a feeling connecting the setup like this is probably a bad idea, its a gut feeling rather than any knowledge on my part. Can anyone clarify?

    Cheers
     
  2. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Do you have preouts from the AV amp that you can connect to the AUX input of the stereo amp? Then you won't have to connect them both to the same speakers.

    MB
     
  3. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    mat thanks for the reply.... unfortunately you've gone a little techie on me.... not your fault, but mine.... but I think I know what you mean! :rolleyes:

    Having just had a look at both amps there doesn't appear to be a preout on either. However, there is an 'input from External decoder' on the AV amp, but without an OUT on the stereo amp I don't think thats gonna work either....
     
  4. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    OK

    Your AV amp decodes signals from the DVD (or other source) and routes them to its internal amplifiers which then power the speakers.

    A 'pre out' is a point at which you can tap into a signal before it is sent to the AV amps internal amplifiers and you can route it to another amplifier (a power amp or stereo amp)

    Your AV amp 'should' have pre outs most do

    Your input from external decoder is not what you want, this is almost exactly the opposite thing, allowing you to just use the amplifier section of the AV amp to boost the signal before sending it to the speakers (so you can use an external decoder)

    Take a pic of the back of both amps and post them here, then we can tell you how to wire them up, if its possible

    MB
     
  5. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    thanks for your help again mat.

    I will post some pictures, hopefully later today.
     
  6. Jules Tohpipi

    Jules Tohpipi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +143
    As no-one has said it so far:

    Under no circumstances should you connect speaker cables from two amps directly to one pair of speakers. You will get loud bangs from all said components, followed by a bad smell in the room, followed by carrying three boxes back to your dealer.

    The route the guys above are trying to take you down is the best solution, if you have those pre-outs.
     
  7. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    thanks Lost Cause.... I had a feeling it wouldn't be a great idea, but no idea it would have been so disasterous! .... Thanks very much, much appreciated. :thumbsup:
     
  8. Antpink

    Antpink
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +103
    Dwayne,
    Suggest you try a search in this forum - this question was answered in a lot of detail just recently (within past few weeks), and many times before as well. The posters in that thread went as far as to give point to point hook-up instructions, which should leave you in no doubt how to so this.

    Here's a few I pulled up:
    thread 1
    thread 2
    thread 3

    Should get you started.
    Cheers
     
  9. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    Thanks Antpink, will have a look at those.

    Matblack,
    I've posted some photo's as suggested. The first pic is the stereo amp.
    Thanks for your continued assistance.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. korman

    korman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +218
    Thanks Korman, that looks like it could be the answer.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...