Can I Auto-replicate My Email On 2 Computers?

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by goshmon, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. goshmon

    goshmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have two PCs connected online via a router. Up to now I have chosen to use just one of these PCs (using Outlook Express on Windows Xp) to manage my email.
    The other PC runs Windows 7 and therefore on this I would have to use Windows Live Mail (which I have not yet attempted to use).
    I do not want to utilise my ISP’s web mail services, but I would like to set up both PCs so that all my email folders become automatically replicated and stored in each PC irrespective of which one I am using. Can I do this without resorting to complex networking?
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Are they connected to the same router or are they in different locations?

    Do you want to keep using outlook express/windows live mail?

    If your e-mail account and e-mail programs support it then I would check the box to leave the e-mail on the server (as opposed to deleting it as you normally would after download).
     
  3. goshmon

    goshmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Endless Waves.
    Yes, and yes, to your questions.
    I will investigate the possibility of keeping email on the server. I had assumed there would be no option but for it to be automatically deleted from the server soon after I had sent/received.
     
  4. maf1970

    maf1970
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +305
    To be able to keep your e-mail on multiple machines you need an IMAP setup rather than a POP one.
    To be able to advise properly I would need to know more about your e-mail setup as not all e-mail accounts support IMAP.

    The setting that EndlessWaves is talking about is found in the Advanced tab in the account settings. There is a bit of a drawback if you check the box. Although it leaves a copy on the server it is not intelligent enough to realise that it has already been downloaded so what you get is lots of replication.
     
  5. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,285
    Not sure if that's true: I've got mine set to leave a copy on the virginmedia server but when I open Windows Mail, it only downloads new stuff.
     
  6. m@rk

    [email protected]
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +374
    Who provides your email service at the moment?

    Have you thought about using the likes of Google or Microsoft to host your email which will then allow you to use either a web interface instead of a fat client or programs like Outlook in proper server mode.

    Both can be had for free (even if you are using your own mail domain)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice