Question Can I add a Rotel RA1570 Int. Amp to my Marantz SR7011 AV receiver?

drieswal

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I have an Marantz SR7011 AV receiver and B&W CM9S2 speakers with CM5 as surrounds. I heard these speakers this week combined with a Rotel RA-1570 Integrated amp and they sounded much better this way in stereo when playing music than when I drive them with my Marantz.
Can I add this to my setup and still use the Marantz for playing movies with surround sound and can I use the Rotel to drive my front 2 speakers for playing music?
I know the Marantz has "pre outs" for the front speakers but since I am a noob to this I am not sure if that is the correct way to set this up?
Also can the Marantz deliver the source to the Rotel (Spotify or Airplay)?
Any help is appreciated.

Hello, yes you can.

You would run an RCA cable from the front left pre-out of the AVR to the left main in of the Rotel, and then another RCA cable from the front right pre-out of the AVR to the right main in of the Rotel.

You would then be using the Rotel's power amps for the AVR, and it would be at a fixed volume. Re-run Audyssey to get the correct levels.

When listening to music, keep the AVR switched off and connect your music sources to the Rotel and use it as usual as a stand alone stereo amp.

Now, you could also connect the Zone 2 pre-outs of the AVR to another spare input of the Rotel to use the AVR as a musical source, but, it may not sound as good, as you will be 'double pre-amping' that is, using both the pre-amp sections of the AVR and the Rotel. Might sound better with a separate streamer, but try it and see.

Thank you for your detailed response. I have a few more questions.
- When I attach a source to the Rotel (i.e. Apple TV for adding airplay) the decoding will be done by the Rotel and it will sound the same as it normally would as a standalone unit? It doesn't matter that the Marantz is connected to it when it is switched off right?