1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can HDMI output from Pioneer 868 work with DVI input of Z2?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Kane D Williams, Dec 2, 2003.

  1. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    I want to try to demo the Z2 at AV-Sales, but want to know if it will work with the HDMI output of the Pioneer 868i?
     
  2. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    It will work if the DVI input is HDCP but not as well as going into a projector with HDMI input like the Sim2 HT 300 Link.
    Going into the Link HDMI for example you can output 1280x720p from the 868. Going into the Link DVI the Pioneer will only output 720x480 or 720x576.
     
  3. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    but isnt the link dvi non hdcp
     
  4. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks Jeff.

    I don't think AV-Sales have a HCPC or a V880 or D1 etc? They may have a Samsung HD935 though?

    I really want to now what this PJ looks like when getting a 720p signal from one of the DVI equipped players.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    AIUI HDMI uses the DVI spec for the digital signals, so a non-protected DVD will play fine from an HDMI-equipped player to a DVI display device .... least that's what I read this document as saying.
     
  6. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    I use the Samsung HD935 with my Z2 and it's peachy..:D
     
  7. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    can the Z2 read 576i/p / 50 Hz okay via DVI?

    I am sure 720p is fine and 480P is fine BUT 576? It needs confirming

    720p may be an interesting work around and then really down to who does the scaling (or both?)

    You really need a R2 compatible resolution to work though for good performance though. Feed it 576p via DVI input and then you will b sure only one device is scaling.
     
  8. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    graham-whats does the input signal on the Z2 say when the dvd player is inputting a film?720p or what, surely that will confirm whether the dvd player will out put a 720 p signal
    f
     
  9. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Yep it says D-720p. Thats over the DVI connection.
     
  10. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    and can you report on whats the sound like, i am considering selling my pioneer and getting one of these-they look darn good too!
    by meaning sound i mean just with movies-nothing else
    cheers
    Fred
     
  11. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    720p would mean both the player and the panel have a go at scaling, is that what you want?
     
  12. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    i thought DVI meant that just digital signals were sent so the projector doesn't have to do any scaling as it is native resolution is at 1280 X 720, makes sense to me
    Fred
     
  13. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Sound is first rate IMO and better than my Pioneer 454. As for what signal is being scaled by which device I am not confidently up to telling you, all I know is Z2 + Samsung HD935 over DVI gives an astonishing image. :smashin:
     
  14. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    that settles me then-samsung until i can affored a 868-so samsung for a while then!
    fred
    cheers graham
     
  15. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Fred

    In theory you are right, in practice I am not sure this always happens and I 'urge' caution esopecially knowing a little about how DVI actually works in practice. All is 'murky' shall we say

    Sanyo however are better than most in this regard so i suspect all is fine but for many DVI devices currently being discussed, this may not be the case ;) and it is early days when reliable info on these new devices is in short supply
     
  16. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh yeah graham where you get the samsung from?how much?
    cheers
    Fred
     
  17. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sending the Z2 a 1280x720p signal from a HD935 or any of the players that can scale to 720p via DVI would give a 1:1 pixel map. If you send a 576p signal via DVI, then you can show it as native 576p by putting the PJ in thru mode, or have the projector scale up to 1280x768. The latter option may cause some overscan? From what I gather, the scaling in the Samsung and others (V880 etc) is very good and so scaling NTSC or PAL DVD's to 720p inside the player is preferable. The thing with the HD935 though is that I think it will only send out a 720p signal at 60Hz and this is not idea for PAL, although I'm sure it is not too bad either! The Yamakawa 365Divx allows 720p PAL @ 50Hz! This is probably the player I will get?
     
  18. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    fred123go.

    Seeing as you want the 935 as a stop gap here's the cheapest place I know at the moment at £140.

    Samsung HD935

    and this is were I bought mine from a while back, and found the service efficient.

    Another Samsung seller

    cheers G.
     
  19. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    FYI here's the region hack for the Samsung HD935. :)

    Press the Repeat button on your remote control

    NB: Do not confuse this with the Repeat A-B button


    If it was purchased in Region 2: Press the buttons 5, 7, 5, 3 and 8 on your remote control, in order one at a time

    For Region 1 players: Press the buttons 2, 9, 3, 3 and 4 on your remote control, in order one at a time
    For Region 3 players: Press the buttons 5, 6, 7, 3 and 2 on your remote control, in order one at a time
    For Region 4 players: Press the buttons 7, 6, 8, 8 and 4 on your remote control, in order one at a time
    For Region 5 players: Press the buttons 5, 3, 8, 1 and 4 on your remote control, in order one at a time
    For Region 6 players: Press the buttons 2, 4, 4, 6 and 2 on your remote control, in order one at a time


    The numbers 02 or similar will be displayed on the top left of your onscreen display
    Press the 1 button on your remote control for region 1, 2 for region 2, and so on, or 9 for multi-region playback

    NB: The above step may be time sensitive and need to be performed quickly

    After 15 seconds have elapsed, power off your player and then power on your player
     
  20. fred123go

    fred123go
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Cobham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers graham-it also looks damn good too!
    Fred
     
  21. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Everyone take a look at the Yamakawa 356Divx. It is 135 Euros on Amazon.de

    This is the machine I will be getting! It allows 576p and 720p at 50Hz and will soon allow user selectable resolutions for the DVI output!
     
  22. Kane D Williams

    Kane D Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nr London
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just heard Amazon.de will not ship to UK! Try alternate.de (150 Euros)?
     
  23. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Let us all kknow how it gets on. :smoke:
     

Share This Page

Loading...