1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone stop my PC from crashing - please

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by dUnKle, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    I have the following

    A Cybermaxx PC with Microstar Motherboard
    ATI 9800 Pro GPU
    Creative Audigy 2 Sound Card
    1024MB of RAM
    and 450W PSU


    Now it was fine - it would play any game thrown at it without a problem until DIRECT X9C came out

    Once that is on my PC the machine will crash within around 5 minutes of playing ANY game - be it Combat Mission 1 or Doom 3 - the screen will go black and the only option I have is to reboot the PC

    With any other version of DX things are fine - but the minute 9C goes on (with or without SP2) these problems come back

    I have latest drivers for all hardware including 4.9 ATI drivers but nothing helps

    Anyone help

    Thanks
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I think your card is not DX9C compliant. Only the new NVidia 6800 series are. therefore you have to go back to DX9b or better yet, upgrade your ATi Driver!

    The newest driver should have support for DX9c, and if it doesnt, youl have to wait for one that does!
     
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    jpmestly ? that shocks me

    Its probably one of the biggest selling and highest rated cards of past 6 months and still a big seller
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I know, i still have my 9800pro 256, but it is true that it does NOT support DX9c.

    Just go back to 9b dude! There are no programs that use 9c yet anyway!
     
  5. chicken balti

    chicken balti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No-brainer. Go back to DX9.0b. No ATI cards, even the X800's, are fully 9.0c compliant, it has been mentioned that driver revisions may correct this but several tech heads have said there are hardware issues that cannot be resolved with a driver or firmware update. AML is right about the n6800's being the only cards that fully comply with 9.0c, I think we'll have to wait for a new card generation from ATI to resolve this by which time DX10 will have dropped. Frankly, on a 9800 Pro, there is no point in running an unstable setup for the sake of having the latest version of DirectX.
     
  6. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Blimey

    So what happens this Friday when my copy of The Sims 2 arrives then :(
     
  7. Laurel&Hardy

    Laurel&Hardy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm running Directx 9.0c on my old Ti4600 and I've had no problems at all. So it's not just the 6800 series that are fully compliant it seems.

    However, I don't think that anything out there uses DX9.0c extensions as yet, so I wouldn't worry too much. I can't see why Sims 2 would need DX9.0c.
     
  8. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Its the first game that uses 9C - will not even install without it :(
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    I can't imagine it's down to your card not being 9c compatible to be honest. I had to load 9c for the Colin Mcrae 5 demo and it hasn't given me any problems.
    My card is a FX 5900 Ultra so you shouldn't really have problems with your card.
     
  10. Joe Pineapples

    Joe Pineapples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +835
    agree with JohnG, and i've been running a 9800pro (4.8 cats), with 9c for a while now, with no problems.

    fear not :) (once you've sorted out the problem that is)

    "Below is the current list of graphics cards supported by The Sims 2:

    ATI RadeonTM series (7000 or better)
    Radeon 7000/VE series (non-T&L; requires 2.0 GHz processor)
    7200, 7500
    8500, All-In-Wonder 8500
    9000, 9200, 9500, 9600, 9700, 9800
    X300, X600, X800

    Nvidia® QuadroTM series
    Quadro, Quadro2, Quadro4

    Nvidia® Geforce series (GeForce2 and better)
    GeForce2
    GeForce3, 3 Ti
    GeForce4, 4Ti, MX 420, 440
    GeForce FX 5200, 5600, 5700, 5800, 5900, 5950
    GeForce 6600, 6800

    Intel® Extreme Graphics (non-T&L; requires 2.0 GHz processor)
    82845, 82865, 82915"
     
  11. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Same problem here - my 9700pro crashes to desktop now Ive installed DX9c - but strangely only on older games.

    9700 & 9800 are DirectX 9 cards irellevant of what revision of DirectX 9 is used - they should work fine. You can install DX9 on a PC that uses a DX8 card and no issues should be experienced. In fact I know lots of people who have without issue.

    Microsoft and GFX card developers need to get their heads together to stop this from happening - its lame to be honest.

    Oh - according to Microsoft you cant roll back DirectX so a complete new install will be required.
     
  12. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Well I have narrowed it down to two things

    Managing to play games fine at the moment but have no sound card software installed and running AGP with NO acceleration and things are fine

    so need to work out which of the two are the cause of problem
     
  13. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Sound uses DirectX as well as your graphics card.

    The issue is DirectX 9C conflicting with your graphics card or sound card. More than likely the graphics card.
     
  14. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    def not graphics card as that allowed me to play games fine and with no problems using DX9C

    Need to try now for either sound or the AGP 8 speed thing
     
  15. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    i doubt ist the AGP. sounds like it might be your sound card that might not be Dx9c or even DX9 compliant.
    You might want to try using the sound chip on you motherboard and see if it works then. If it does then you might need to get a new sound card! Im just guessing here. Dont rush out to get one until your sure what the problem is!
     
  16. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    I have the Creative Audigy 2 soundcard so the problem isn't incompatibility between 9c and your sound card.
    What drivers are you using for the sound card ? In my experience Creative drivers and software can be well dodgy so it could well be a driver issue.
    I had a problem for the 1st year of owning my Audigy 2 card on my Abit SR7-8X mohterboard - no matter what I did the card would conflict with the on-board network card, until I got a BIOS update for the motherboard. HAve you got the latest BIOS for your motherboard ?
     
  17. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Process of elimination continues

    Sound card is fine - now just guessing its to do with AGP settings and drivers
     
  18. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    update the chipset drivers for your motherboard......
     
  19. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    yeah, update all drivers, chipset, bios. Even optical drive drivers. Make sure windows is also up to date. As for SP2, ive heard many bad things, so that could also be a problem. You dont really need SP2 at the moment so uninstal it if you have it.
     
  20. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Well problem found

    with AGP at 8 speed and DX9C installed it crashes

    With AGP at 4 speed and DX9C installed it does not crash
     
  21. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    But your transfer speed will slow down therefore your graphics cards performance will too!

    Are you sure Sims 2 uses Dx9c? I find it unlikely since there are no games that use it yet!

    Theres nothing wrong with 9b by the way. I dont recomend turning the AGP speed down to 4X
     
  22. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    yep

    will not even install without DX9C - my copy arrived today

    No noticable difference Doom 3 runs like a dream
     
  23. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    I've never really noticed a difference in speed with AGP 8x, I think it maybe more of a gimmick than of any use with current games.
     
  24. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Have you tried disabling VPU recovery in the ati display console?
    There is no discernable difference gaming with 8x or 4x agp imo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...