can anyone help

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by bigballs, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. bigballs

    bigballs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i have a phillips ambilight tv model no 37pf9631d/10 which i am having trouble connecting to my pc (which only has vga) can anyone tell me what would be the best solution??

    many thanks
     
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    What exactly is the problem? A quick google reveals your TV has VGA input.
     
  3. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    You don't say what the problem is, but a good starting point would be reducing your resolution to 1024x768 if you've not already done that as it only supports PC signals up to that res.

    Are you just connecting the PC and the TV or do you have other devices switches splitters involved?
     
  4. bigballs

    bigballs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so on my previous tv i just had a vga from the pc straight into the tv, the new tv has from what i can see only got 2 hdmi inputs and 2 scarts, does'nt have a vga or that other pci thingy ( WHITE ONE ) so can it be connected? and whats the best way?
     
  5. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    From the looks of things the VGA connection is via what is often called a 'break-out cable', it has a VGA connector one end for the PC and R/G/B/H/V connectors at the other end.

    These are often BNC rather than RCA so you may need adapters.

    Check the manual for details but you should find an option to set the EXT 3 input for PC.

    Don't forget to set the PC to 1024x768 though.
     
  6. bigballs

    bigballs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet cheers dude i should be able to get that cable from maplins eh?? thanks for you help mate i was starting to get really ****** off thanks again
     
  7. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    Maplins will have VGA -> 5xBNC and they also sell the bnc->RCA adapters, just make sure you get the right gender.

    Not sure how you've got the TV mounted but check that you'll have room for the adapter and the BNC connector behind the TV if it is wall mounted as they will stick out some distance.
     
  8. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    I would be more inclinded to get a new graphics card (if it's a desktop PC) that has HDCP compliant DVI or HDMI output. Sometimes, it's not worth chucking money at older technology.
     
  9. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    It is certainly an option worth considering.

    I was half-guessing that the PC is either pretty old or may be a laptop as it has been quite a while since anything shipped with only a VGA connector, but as long as it isn't a laptop a replacement should be possible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...