1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone help please, before I have a stroke!!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by morgs, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have been given an Epson Photo R200 printer as an early Christmas present

    Have installed all the drivers and set it up.

    The printing software (photoquicker) takes me through the whole process of selecting, editing, choosing paper, borders etc

    When I click to print, an error message comes up

    "Photo could not be opened because either
    a) the file format of the photo is not supported
    b) The photo is too small
    c) The photo file is damaged"

    a) The format is definately JPEG
    b)The photo is not too small. I printed it out manually and it was fine, but too dark to be anything other than a waste of paper
    c) I've tried dozens of different kinds of pictures of all different types. They surely can't ALL be damaged

    My camera (just in case it matters is a KODAK DX4900)


    Please help me. After two hours at this, I'm going mad!!!
     
  2. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Might be a daft question but, have you got the paper size set up on the printer. ie 6x4 10x8 A4 ect
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    It's also worthwhile checking to see if there are any patches available for this software on the Epson site.
     
  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    you know i could do with a decent printer even though i send of for prints.


    Got that of me chest:laugh:
     
  5. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yep, checked everything.

    Was in contact with epson's cool little instant message system today. There, the chap (andy) said that because I had installed service pack 2, then I needed to change some of the advanced settings. (HOW THE HELL WE COULD GUESS THAT IS ANYONES BUSINESS!!)

    Anyway, made the changes he suggested, pressed print, and the same thing happened!!

    Went to manual print to see if things had improved there at all.

    OH MY GOD! Flashing lights, dragged the paper in, chewed it up a bit, and stuck!

    I have a very large drawing board, and I am sitting back at it.


    Someone must have one of these things! have I chosen to install the wrong driver? There are about twenty on the disc, and I've gone for the one that was windows signed, for xp and English!

    Was I supposed to select the secret "only for service pack two, situated in the north of England" driver??



    HEEEEEEELP!

    regards
    Morgs
     
  6. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry that this isn't really going to be of any help, but the main reason why I switched from an Epson printer to Canon a few years ago is because the support I received from Epson was absolutely dire, assuming I was able to get through to them in the first place - sometimes I was waiting for half an hour before I got to talk to someone. for the particular problem I was experiencing I spoke, over time, to 3 people, all of which gave me totally different advice, none of which worked. It looks like nothing's changed!

    It might be worth checking the Epson web sites in Singapore or Hong Kong as I seem to recall that, at the time for my printer, they seemed to have more up to date drivers than the UK or US web sites.
     
  7. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    I'd try (if you haven't already) to remove all the software relating to it and then delete the Printer itself through Control Panel. Then start again. Worth a try! Good luck.
     
  8. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I guess you're right.

    I'm still convinced I've used the wrong driver, but I don't know which one to use.

    Not sure i can face the propect of trying each and every one, until I get success. Anyone got one of these?? (I'm led to believe Epson have sold quite a few!

    yours hopefully

    Morgs
     
  9. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    As has been suggested previously, the latest versions of the driver, Quicker software & other utilities are available here. Suggest you download & install them one at a time. The latest driver specifically lists a fix for dark images with SP2.

    As has also been suggested, if you have no joy with the driver updates, try mailing support at Epson USA (here).

    Was the printer to replace the DAB that wouldn't work?

    If you want to contact other R200 owners, a simple Google for Epson R200 will throw up a number of other forum threads where the R200 has been discussed previously. Try registering your problem there.
     
  10. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks very much mate! Much appreciated.

    Will dedicate some time today to try to sort it!

    I'll let you know how i get on

    Morgs
     
  11. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Things have got better!

    The printer now prints very nicely. (thanks for all your help!)

    BUT I still can't use epsons software. It just doesn't want to play ball.

    So now I have another question.

    Windows print wizard is too basic for my needs (Odd paper sizes etc)
    I need to be able to be more flexible in my printing.

    I've just ordered photoshop elements, does that have a print manager bundled in it? Or will I need to look elsewhere?

    Thanks in anticipation

    morgs
     
  12. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have Photoshop 7, and that's really all you need (assuming elements is similar). I never use the HP software that came with my printer, apart from the driver/printer settings bit.
     
  13. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    that's good to know!

    Bloody annoying when you capture lovely pics, but software dictates how it will turn out.

    A steep learning curve approaches!!!

    regards

    morgs
     

Share This Page

Loading...