1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can anyone help locate this bloody connector?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by pcavelle, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi - I have a Radeon 9500 Pro in the back of my PC. On of the outputs is described as S Video, but it is not. It has 6 or 7 pins instead of the usual 4 and is some kind of proprietary connector.

    Can anyone advise where I can get a suitable connector/cable/adaptor so I can get a pukka s video cable connected to the damn thing?

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  2. Scotty

    Scotty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Home Counties
    Ratings:
    +412
    You don’t need an adapter - the standard 4 pin s-video cable actually fits that socket. ;) and only uses 4 of the 7.

    I think the socket is a multi use, composite, s-video and component.
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    True - 4 pins svideo fits in the 7 pin socket.
     
  4. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks Chaps but it doesn't. There is a bend or curve in the perimeter of the proprietary socket that prevents an s video from being pushed in, unless I'm being thick about this, and trying it upside down or something like that.

    Have you actually got Radeons yourself & tried this, may I ask?

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  5. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Yes - I have a Radeon 9000, 9100, 9600XT, 9600pro, 9700 and the Svideo just fits in no probs.
     
  6. ChrisAllenFiz

    ChrisAllenFiz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sounds like your connector or lead have got bent somehow. Radeons don`t come with proprietary connectors.
     
  7. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    try a different S-video cable the socket is actually a mini Din, S-video normally uses 4 pin mini DIN but there are loads of types of DIN connection (DIN is a german standard for connections), including those used on Scuba gear.
     
  9. Scotty

    Scotty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Home Counties
    Ratings:
    +412
    A standard s-video 4 pin connector definitely fits, the 7 pin socket on my 9500pro 9600pro and 9000, just to make sure a tested this again before my post this morning.

    I have had a couple of ATI video cards (retail boxed) and all had a 2mtr s-video cable included, did you not get any cables with your card?

    My 5 mtr IXOS S-Video cable also fits

    Looks like its your cable ;)
     
  10. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks chaps - it must just be me being a pratt. I'll give it another try later using a different cable.

    I did get something or other when I bought it but have lost the box. Regards

    Paul
     
  11. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    It was the cable, just too thick to fit in and another one worked ok.

    A question - using the s video output from the Radeon should I be able to get a clear picture into my LCD TV/monitor? It's really blurred compared to the normal VGA cable.

    Is s video capable of outputting a normal computer video signal?

    Thanks for your help,

    Paul
     
  12. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Svideo from gfx cards sucks to be honest - VGA should be used where possible.

    The only respectable Svideo out I have seen from a PC is from a Sigma Holloywood+ card or a Sigma Xcard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...